help exchange   Host 83564
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 8
Persons: 1-4
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 83564
Region: Auckland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 12, 2018

I am a passionate beekeeper and semi-serious gardener.

I work with bees so if you are allergc to bees please understand this post is not for you !!

We are looking for helpers from 7th May 2018 onwards.
My husband Anthony and I run 2 large properties with 700 diverse fruit trees - we barter and sell our fruit at markets and at our own stall. We also have two hot houses for vegetables and flowers and we plant and harvest year round.
Work is MANUAL LABOUR and includes ALL aspects of gardening in ALL WEATHER CONDITIONS. Jobs include : vegetable, flower, berry and fruit picking, all aspects of gardening, property maintenance,small art projects, helping at farmers markets, certain aspects of beekeeping and looking after chickens. My daughter Michelle and our grandson PerryPaolo often visit and help on the property.

I also run a B&B on the property and so helpers need to be respectful of this.

We are looking for people who are not afraid of manual labour and getting their hands dirty. Every day is different and chores vary according to the seasons, the trees and maintenance. We are happy to teach people about gardening, fruit trees, vegetables, flowers and beekeeping. We expect a minimum of 6 hours work 6 days a week in exchange of food and accommodation.
(In summer we start work at 6am picking berries before it gets too hot.)
We can organise for helpers to work longer hours on certain days in order to have more time off on other days.

Minimum stay :1 week in autumn /winter
2 weeks in spring/ summer

Helpers MUST HAVE THEIR OWN garden gloves, gumboots, sun hat, sun cream, insect repellent, adequate clothing for seasonal work, rain gear.

From May 2018 Accommodation is situated next to our own home in a private building with 2 bedrooms with 4 single beds, a shared bathroom, kitchen, living area , bbq, patio and garden. Limited wifi access.
NOTE : Only March& April 2018 accommodation is a shared room in our house with shared facilities.

This is a NO SMOKING farm!
We provide food for meals but I DO NOT DO COOKING every day for helpers. Cooking is a shared chore and we take turns preparing meals together . Meals can be taken together with my family or separately it is entirely up to the helpers. I DO NOT DO CLEANING or WASHING for helpers who are expected to keep their accommodation clean and tidy at all times.

I DO NOT TOLERATE loud music , loud voices nor lazy helpers .

There are some amazing beaches just around the corner from our place - Omaha Beach, Tawharanui Reserve, Goat Island Marine Reserve, Matakana Cinema (Voted Best cinema in NZ !) , Sawmill Brewery, Leigh, Matheson Bay and plenty more .... there is a bus service to Warkworth /Auckland every hour and loads of bicycle tracks, good restaurant and galleries.

Photos are of my bee art projects, our produce, omaha beach, one of my bees, our flowers and one of our gardens

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use