help exchange   Host 8996
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Te Anau
All Year: All Year
Area (ha):
Persons: 1-3
Category: Other
Host ID: 8996
Region: Southland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 4, 2017

G'day my name is Andy, I have been working on farms all my life and have put my hand to many practical things life has given me e.g. shearing, building, hunting etc. I have a Horse trekking and Quad biking Business that I run with my daughter Emma. She has grown up around horses all her life and is now training our young horses with Natural horsemanship methods.

We also have sheep and cattle on our farm along with Chickens, ducks, a dog and a cat called Xena.

We need help with house work and general farm jobs like, weed control, splitting wood, picking up stones and rocks, feeding animals and mucking out paddocks as well as some others depending what is happening on the farm.

Work around the house includes gardening, painting, some cooking, washing dishes, vacuuming, cleaning rooms in the house, cleaning windows etc.

Accommodation includes a sleep out (sleeps 2-3 people) and a spare bedroom in the house (sleeps up to 3 people). All facilities and three main meals are shared. We are big meat eaters, therefore we find it hard to cater for vegetarians.

One of our biggest jobs depending on the season is the horse treks and quad trips (Mainly summer). We would like people to help with either grooming or riding horses and helping on treks. This is depending on your experience with horses, in all areas. We prefer people with 5yrs or more riding experience (meaning riding more than once a week)

We are located approximately 5km from the Te Anau township and 2hrs drive from the adventure capital of New Zealand, Queenstown. As well as the mysterious wonderland of Milford Sound. We are surrounded by the beautiful fiords and mountains which have greats walks e.g. The Kepler Track, The Routeburn Track and the Milford Track. We are more than happy to help you experience these magical places.

Please note. We do not have time to teach people about working with horses therefore if you have no experience with horses you will not be working with them. However you may get to ride one, depending on how busy we are.

After a hard days work we like to kick back with a cold beer or a spot of whiskey and a good old movie night. We also enjoy the odd BBQ depending on the weather.

We like meeting new people and sharing our knowledge with them and visa versa.

For people who work with horses, we would like you to stay for one month or more :)
For people who don't work with horses you can stay for one week or more :)

Look forward to meeting YOU!!!

Cheers Andy


Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use