help exchange   Host 9319
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Belver
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 4
Category: Other
Host ID: 9319
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 21, 2016

The Old replaces the New

After five years of studies and working in the “backstage”, I reappear in the Helpex website with a strong will to achieve a dream: Rebuild, Reflorest and Revive Outeiro, along the principles of Permaculture: caring for the earth, caring for the people and equitable sharing. Outeiro is a village on the top of a mountain by the shore of the Tagus river, isolated from society but in communion with Nature. The road is in good state and it connects Outeiro to other villages and cities, being Belver city, with its museum and medieval castle, 6 km away, Mação, which has commerce, 18 km away and Abrantes, with everything a city has to offer, 22 km away.
I need help in numerous specific areas, such as bio-construction, carpentry, alternative energies, etc, and in the basics areas, such as gardening, maintenance of space, construction of small works (ex. fences, gates), plantation of trees and terrain for gardens, which will give to people some experience in these domains.
It is important to refer that work will focus on this year’s goals. Work inside the house: kitchen and bathroom. Work outdoors:build a shower, work in the garden, collection and storage of materials for future constructions (Spring 2017), such as rocks, wood, cork (burnt trees), clay and straw, cleaning and improvement of the ruins for reconstruction preparation.
I am looking for responsible people that appreciate and love Nature as well as all the beings that live in it, with a sense of cooperation, sense of humor, easy going and, most importantly, that follow the principles of Permaculture. Preferably looking for couples (with or without children) but anyone willing is welcome to make contact and have the possibility to stay long period of time.
For the 5 hours of work per day (5 days a week), I offer food and a place to stay. The volunteers would have a bedroom (2 people per room).
I welcome anyone with the will to preserve and help Nature prosper and hopefully helpers interested in joining efforts with me and take part in this project of rehabilitation and nurturing of the earth.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use