help exchange   Host 9902
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.5 hectares
Persons: 2+
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 9902
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 11, 2017

Practical dog loving couples/friends needed to lend a hand!

We are an English couple who have lived in France for 12 years. We live in a partly renovated an old stone cottage in the middle of rolling vineyards in historic Gascony, in the sunny Midi-Pyrenees with our 9+ rescue dogs, chickens and ducks. We are a high energy household and seek like minded volunteers to help us in our busy lives. Tasks include looking after the animals - dog walking, grooming, feeding, kennel cleaning & picking up poo - looking after the hens and ducks - feeding, cleaning, egg collection etc; gardening, cleaning and general property upkeep.

We also look after a number of other properties in the area and in the Spring and Summer, we need help with gardening, cleaning, planting, laundry etc. Most of the work is outside depending on the weather. In quieter periods, we progress our house renovation and current projects include pointing walls, tiling floors, painting & decorating, repainting existing kitchen units and installing in our new kitchen, making/painting shutters, installing new bathrooms, plumbing and electrics.

Anyone with experience in building projects and general DIY (masonry, carpentry, electrics etc) is particularly welcome but if you are fit, strong, enthusiastic and hard working with a will to learn new skills then please also get in touch!

In return for 25 hours per week, we offer comfortable accommodation with in the cottage or in a caravan with shared bathroom/communal sitting room/wifi/satellite tv. A driving license valid in France is an advantage (manual, right hand drive cars) as we are in a remote location and it will give you some freedom to explore. Couples/friends are particularly welcome. Minimum stay 2 weeks.

Keith is a trained chef and loves to cook and teach what he knows about food and gastronomy - both local and international - so delicious home cooked food is always on the menu. We are mainly a carnivorous family but vegetarians are welcome if they are happy to prepare their own alternative menu when necessary.

There are some lovely walks all around us and our local village of Gondrin is within walking distance (1.5kms) - shops, bar, restaurant, ATM, post office, chemist and pool/ outdoor leisure centre (July/August only), and we have 2 bikes available as well. We are situated on the Santiago de Compostela pilgrimage route (between Condom and Eauze, and within a couple of hours reach of the Pyrenees, the Atlantic coast, & 3 hrs from the Mediterranean and ideally located if you are en route to Spain.

The people are friendly and the countryside is beautiful ...our photos will give you an idea of our lifestyle and the beautiful scenery which surrounds us. We hope to see you here soon experiencing living in 'La France profonde' where life has changed little in the past 50 years.!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use