help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Melanie Waldon

Melanie Waldon, 37 from United States (female)
Email: click here
Network: Australia
Present Country: Australia
Join Date: August 6, 2017
Last Updated: January 7, 2018
Last Signed In: January 15, 2018

Companion Ad:
In my last 6 months of traveling I've learned that, for me, it's more about the people than the places. I'd love to ideas, adventures, and costs with a companion. I am currently in SE Asia and have no specific plans. I'm quite adaptable and easy-going as any traveler should be but I am also intensely curious and enjoy intellectual conversation. I don't just want to see and do new things, I also want to learn the geopolitics and history behind the culture. Is this the kind of experience you want to share?

Next Destination(s):
Southern Australia for January then New Zealand in Feb and Mar.

Helper Description:
Set off traveling in July 2017 without itinerary or timeline. I have a very modest monthly income which requires creativity to be sustainable. I've learned that I have no intention of going "home".

So far I've visited 18 new countries and Couchsurfed along the way. Taking the time to meet the locals and get to know their lives has been the most powerful experience I could imagine. I would like to go a bit slower and be of use in my interactions with new people/places.

My background is quite diverse and I have a broad range of skills to offer, but most importantly a sharp intellect capable of learning new skills quickly. My occupational experience has been in: customer service, food service, veterinary care/animal husbandry, business administration, 8 years in the military, linguistics, and management of personnel, training, programs, and projects.

I have a knack for organizing (anything from a room to a business operational model). And I am also happy to get dirty and put my muscles to work.

I'm highly-allergic to cigarette smoke and I'm a pescatarian which means I don't eat land animal meat, though "swimmy things", eggs, and dairy are ok. Otherwise, very easy going and adaptable!