Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Joe Cook

Joe Cook, 30 from United States (male)
Email: click here
Network: USA
Present Country: United States
Join Date: July 8, 2016
Last Updated: September 5, 2017
Last Signed In: October 9, 2017

Companion Ad:
I am stuck in Central Oregon through fire season, but if you are an international visitor I'd love to meet up for an adventure. I know this area pretty well and can show you some cool places including lava beds, hidden lakes and caves.

Next Destination(s):
X

Helper Description:
Currently not looking for additional helpx host locations

Where I am now: Central Oregon, USA
What I am up to: Wildland Firefighting

====================================
====================================

What I look for in a helpx experience:

I love working hard in the day and sleeping deeply at night. I get anxious when I stand around and will find things to do to stay healthy. I want to apply skills I've acquired, learn new methods and techniques in construction and farming, and absorb new cultures I encounter along the way!

Strengths
=========

Athletic
Well hydrated
Teachable
Self Reliant

Skills
======

*Myriad of home improvement and property development experiences

*Use of power tools and hand tools for carpentry, masonry, tile installation and demolition, among other things

*Tree felling and lumberjacking

*Small and midsize tractor operation

*Landscape design and contracting

Lifestyle
=========

*Itinerant
*Nomadic
*Driven by experience-based opportunities
*Musician

I pick up hitchhikers. People are people.

I support a plant-based diet and regular exercise, keeping both the body and mind busy with physical exploration and reading.

I try to practice moderation with use of technology.

Diversity of meaningful past experiences include...

*Youth instruction, mentoring and coaching (High School Math Improvement Interventionalist and football coach, U8 youth soccer coach, and private music instructor)

*Volunteering/community service (HOBY Facilitator/Allston Village Street Party/Telluride FireFest/Organizer for over 3000 hours of service for collegiate organization, among other things...)

*Work as a marketing copywriter for major retailers, stagehand for Superbowl XLIX and 40+ major headliners in Austin, San Antonio and Oklahoma City, and musician in wedding band.

Other
=====

In my free time I enjoy reading from my Kindle, playing music, and writing stories. I am getting my percussion rudiments back by practicing on sonorous surfaces in parks (benches, grills, concrete bowls, etc.) and am writing about a family on a road trip.