help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Alexandra C.

Alexandra C., 57 from United States (female)
Email: click here
Network: International
Present Country: United States
Join Date: July 20, 2012
Last Updated: December 16, 2017
Last Signed In: January 15, 2018

Companion Ad:
I'm an experienced traveler in good health who's always open to new adventures. I'm flexible, spontaneous, positive--a non-smoker/ light drinker who enjoys a good laugh. You should be a a non-smoker with a good sense of humor. Chronic complainers need not apply! Age isn't an obstacle, it's just a number--so, if you're older/younger, doesn't matter. My next destination? I'm available and open to suggestions but am thinking of extended travel throughout S. America (to include some of my bucket list destinations: Macchu Pichu, Galapagos Islands, Easter Island). If you think we'd be compatible travelers, drop me an email and we'll take it from there. Happy trails!

Next Destination(s):
I am open to suggestions!

Helper Description:
Much of my teaching experience has been with adults, but I spent this last year (2015-2016) teaching 11th grade English / Language Arts at an American high school (I have a Florida teaching license for English Language Arts for grades 6-12 as well as a CELTA) and in 2013-2014 worked as a Kindergarten / Pre-KG teacher at an international school in Warsaw, Poland. This is in addition to regularly tutoring young children in the Middle East.

I've also worked in the USA as an ESL consultant for a refugee resettlement program; a journalist for a weekly newspaper; a program director for a literacy NGO; and, communications director for a small sports clothing manufacturer.

My professional experience includes graphic design, writing website content, marketing, photography, event planning, program development, and public relations.

I'm a 'hands-on' kind of person and love children, animals and travel. I also have top-notch computer skills and am an excellent cook. I'm a friendly person with customer service experience who almost always sees the glass as half full. I get along well with people of all ages and am very respectful of/interested in different cultures (recently completed a 3 year contract teaching at a hospital in Saudi Arabia).

I consider myself a 'life-long' learner so I'm always open and anxious to learn new skills (for example, I'd be very interested in bee keeping as well as learning how to make cheese).

My hobbies include traveling, gardening, reading, hiking, bicycling, computers, and experimental ethnic cooking. I've also been heavily involved in volunteering for literacy projects (spent four months volunteering at an Ashram in Delhi, India).


If someone needs a 'helper' like me please email and we'll see what we can work out (but please, NO 'for profit' agencies requesting me to work for them for a bed and meals--to me, this is totally not in the spirit of HelpX. Also, no 'volunteer' work where my 'small monetary contribution' is basically a business for the host).

Best regards to all!