Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Boris Demovic

Boris Demovic, 29 from Slovakia (male)
Email: click here
Network: International
Present Country: Slovakia
Join Date: June 10, 2015
Last Updated: December 20, 2017
Last Signed In: June 17, 2018

Companion Ad:
If I meet some soul mate, I would like to join him/ her.

Next Destination(s):
Queensland

Helper Description:
I AM NOT LOOKING FOR ANY HOST ANYMORE, I am back in Slovakia.

Hi all. I have arrived in Australia on 18th May, I did HelpX in mostly northern QLD continuously at 7 different hosts untill 29th July, then I had 2 weeks rest, then again HelpX - on Magnetic island (mostly cleaning & gardening), then in Malanda (with chickens, around house, garden,...), then travelling, then HelpX again and CURRENTLY I AM NOT LOOKING FOR ANY HOST ANYMORE, SINCE ON 15.11. I AM FLYING BACK TO EUROPE.

About me: I have studied biology with spezialization in zoology. After finishing my studies I worked for ca 3 years in state nature conservation. Besides I performed also few manual works, e.g. producing a slovak sheep cheese bryndza, working with brush cutter and pitch fork, grape harvest, tree planting. Within HelpX I did e.g. a lot of brush-cutting, weeding, cleaning, removing tree stumps, cutting smaller trees, working with pickaxe, shovel and spadepulling out the nails, some fencing,... At home I bake regularly a wholemeal bread since 2010.

Among my hobbies belong birdwatching, herping, travelling and enjoying hot exotic nature - all reasons why I decided to make use of the opportunity to come, work and travel in Australia for at least one year.

I think Helpx is very good choice for me in many regards. Firstly, I can improve my English - even though I have passed IELTS successfully, there is still much to improve, esp. the pronounciation, listening comprehension and active vocabulary. Secondly, I can gain some practical skills, which I may appreciate later by looking for some paid job. Thirdly, I can meet new interesting people and learn a lot about this country from them. Fourthly Helpx enables to have more free time (than a normal paid job), so needed for trips and walks around into the nature and having some unforgettable experiences. I am a man who prefers time to money, as/since free time is actually our real life and money is just mere means, a tool.

I have a driving license and also my own car in Slovakia but don´t intend to rent a car in AUS (to save the money). I don´t smoke and don´t drink any alcohol. Although I am not vegetarian, I have no problem to be without meat for several weeks, but in that case I would welcome at least some more legumes, cheese, eggs etc (as compensation for proteins). Also I like (or better said, my body needs) a food rich on fibres (oats, vegetable, wholemeal bread,...), no problem with the cheapest ones, I am very modest ad try to eat as cheaply & healthy as possible.
I am very open-minded, frank and have no problem to discuss anything, occupying my brain incessantly with everything possible. Besides Slovak and English (warning - not perfect) I speak also Czech and German (better than English; nicht perfekt, aber bin fähig, mich zu verständigen) and some Serbian.

I am willing to do whatever kind of work I am able to do, but I would be glad if I had weekends free/ off (because of spending time in nature) - at least in the morning, when birds use to be much more active :-).
I like enjoying silence and the sounds of nature and don´t like loud music.