help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Sterling D

Sterling D, 42 from United States (male)
Email: click here
Network: Australia
Present Country: Australia
Join Date: July 1, 2013
Last Updated: November 17, 2017
Last Signed In: November 18, 2017

Companion Ad:
Open to traveling with a companion just about anywhere. I prefer to go adventuring.... hiking, camping... or by motorbike or on a boat. I love the mountains and the sea. I will go almost anywhere!

Next Destination(s):
In SW Australia now, heading east along the coast over a 1-3 month period, finishing in
either Melbourne or Sydney. May go to Tasmania, then NZ. Looking for hosts from 1
Dec through early Feb.

Helper Description:
Greetings!

After a 20 year career in government, I've set out on a different path — the one less traveled... to see the world, live deliberately, and give back to the community.

Note: Please read my profile in its entirety before sending me a help request message. There are important details that may preclude me from volunteering.

Here are some specific things about me and what I am looking for…

-I would like to find functional, purposeful opportunities in small communities, farms, businesses, and marine/wildlife rescue centers or sanctuaries.

-I enjoy being outdoors — that is where I thrive. I'm also an avid bird watcher, nature lover, and I enjoy wildlife photography.

-I'm very capable with my hands, especially when given free rein over tools and supplies. I have some experience in carpentry, plumbing, cement work, refinishing, laying tile and other basic home building/remodeling skills.

-I'm professionally trained on information technology systems. I can repair and rebuild computers. For hostels or businesses, I can manage your social media presence, run networks, and I understand network/infrastructure systems at a professional level.

-I enjoy being creative and repurposing old/broken things — designing, building and repairing structures, as well as any outlet where I can be left to my own creativity.

-I really enjoy working with animals. I've worked on a dairy farm and have quite a bit of experience with unpredictable wildlife. Unfortunately, I am VERY allergic to most dogs. If yours is one of the hypoallergenic breeds, it should be fine. I can decently manage the symptoms as long as I'm not interacting with and/or sleeping in the same area where they live. If they are jumping on me, near me... and just being dogs, it will likely be a problem. If they are "shy" and not around me, it probably won't be an issue. I cannot sleep in a room where they have been -- I will have asthmatic symptoms to the point of being useless as a volunteer. While we are on the subject of allergies, I'm also terribly allergic to dust mites. To keep me breathing freely and to reduce symptoms, I prefer uncarpeted lodging with very little clutter. Also, HVAC systems tend to be a problem, so, open windows and ceiling fans are the best.

-I particularly enjoy learning new ways to live a more simple and fulfilling life. I believe that less is more. I pack light and always strive to strip away the excess.

-I'm a self-starter, motivated and able to complete tasks without supervision. Show me how to do something and I will get it done.

-I'm a thinker and a doer. Once I learn something, I take pride in doing it well, and I will often find ways to do it better.

-I've traveled to many places in the world and can adapt to most any environment. Travel is one of my greatest passions. I’ve been to 26 countries and counting.

-I enjoy eating healthy and staying fit, though I have no dietary restrictions. I run marathons from time to time… sometimes longer distances. My longest run so far has been 50 miles. If you have trails nearby, I'll be on them!

- For the past three summers, I have taken on long distance hikes for a nonprofit. In 2015, I hiked nearly 2000 miles of the Continental Divide National Scenic Trail. In 2016, I walked the Buckeye Trail in Ohio over 94 days... covering a 1300+ mile path that winds its way around the state Ohio. This past summer, I hiked the Pacific Northwest Trail, from Glacier National park to the Pacific Coast of Washington. So, as you can see, I like to walk!

- If volunteering in North America, I will likely arrive on two wheels – my adventure touring motorcycle is my preferred method of travel. I have ridden nearly 35000 miles of long distance trips, including Route 66, the entire Pacific Coast Highway, and a trip from Seattle to Cincinnati by way of the TransCanada Highway. I love the freedom that riding affords.

To put it simply… I am a jack of all trades. Quite capable in most situations and willing to learn when I'm not. I look forward to helping.

Thanks for viewing my profile.