help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Joe Wyand

Joe Wyand, 36 from United Kingdom (male)
Email: click here
Network: Europe
Present Country: United Kingdom
Join Date: March 7, 2015
Last Updated: February 6, 2018
Last Signed In: February 21, 2018

Companion Ad:
Then cycling from London to Bordeaux in MArch 2017 Cycling around Northern Spain in May/June 2017 Then to India later on.

Next Destination(s):
Currently in Algarve, Next destinations: Andalusia, Catalonia, France.. with general aim of India by
bike.

Helper Description:
Hello Friends,
I知 Joe, from London, 37. I'm on a bicycle going around Europe (maybe to India.. It is going slowly!) In 2018 I wish to mainly volunteer with spiritual/yoga/organic food/retreats/eco tourism/eco-build/hostels... I'm looking for projects where I can get stuck in and learn as well. At my age I知 not looking for an easy life!!!!... but I have a dream to work with my own parcel of land one day, and I would like to explore this.

My strongest skills are soft people skills:
- management, coaching, training, customer service, induction, sales, interviewing, communication, marketing, negotiation, recruitment and I've also managed and inducted volunteers (and staff) myself regularly..
Plus
I also have good kitchen skills these days; driving, cleaning, a bit of gardening and pruning. I don't have a lot of experience with tools, but this is something I want to change this year.

Note for the yoga retreats I'm applying to..Vipassana is my core meditation practice but I wish to improve my yoga and do teacher training soon.

My career was in recruitment, managing and training and sales.
In the time since I left my job in 2016, I've dabbled with a variety of volunteering, and there have been several occasions where I have quickly assumed responsibility.. This was mainly in Greece in a Homeless Refugee Kitchen, where I worked on 3 different occasions in 2017. I致e written about this also quite openly in my blog www.roadtophiloxenia.wordpress.com. I was in charge of cooking, stock, prep, cleaning, and distribution, and had new volunteers to induct (and retain the good ones) daily. I also raised over 」2000 for the project (facebook Soul Food Kitchen / Philoxenia).

My other volunteering has included serving on a Vipassana retreat, (I somehow became headchef for 2 days), lots of driving, housesitting, some cleaning, a little pruning, watering and weeding when housesitting, and looking after a few animals ( a few geese was as complicated as its got).

In 2018, I would like to
- learn some construction skills that I can build on (no pun originally intended but i知 keeping it!) Ideally natural: cobb, earthbag
- some hospitality experience looking after guests, ideally in a retreat centre or hostel, showing guests around, I知 happy to clean etc
- improve my cooking to hospitality standard
- improve my writing
- organic gardening
- some adult English teaching experience

If I am working on building I will need instruction, but I learn quickly, I知 a good listener, have common sense, I'm reliable, friendly, and to keen to work with a smile.

Languages. I知 native English. My french is quite good. My Spanish is improving (though I have been in Portugal for winter),

Personal stuff:
I live pretty minimally. I quit tobacco (thanks to hypnosis) and have massively reduced alcohol to a glass or two of wine a week. I'm very interested in people like Carl Jung, and to learn and read more about a whole variety of 20th, and 19th century thinkers. I am interested in far too many things and actually trying to focus more on writing, reading, yoga, philosophy, practice this year (but I am missing learning the guitar).

Otherwise since April 2017, I have been cycling: 5000km London to Santiago de Compostella, Fisterra to Finisterre, to Lagos, and then to Madrid.

Health: I'm pretty fit (yoga/cycling) and enjoy manual labour ;)
Diet: I will eat what is put in front of me (except beef). I don't buy or cook meat though myself.

Other things about me: I'm a former homeowner and have had my own garden and done a little London DIY. I have a chemistry degree f. I carry a nice SLR camera for the odd amateur photo shoot, I snowboarded two winters in Kashmir, did 2 Caminos and decided NZ is too far from my family.
Jan 2017: Electrical Foundation 2 Day Intro Course (completed)
Dec 2016: Built own solar charger and 2 day workshop on off grid tech.
Centre for Alternative Tech UK :March 2017 (Compost toilets, Reed beds booked)
I've worked on a strawberry farm in Denmark for a summer, and also volunteered on a hops farm in Oregon, US

Course I would to do:
Building Skills: Tiling, Carpentry
TEFL English Teaching
Yoga Teacher Training
Social Media Training

Travel: I知 on a bicycle, I won稚 need collecting..
Currently reading: Essential works of Carl Jung; Zen Mind, Beginner's Mind by Shunruyu Suzuki