help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Serena Fisher

Serena Fisher, 22 from United States (female)
Email: click here
Network: International
Present Country: United States
Join Date: August 7, 2016
Last Updated: April 6, 2018
Last Signed In: May 17, 2018

Companion Ad:
Would love a free spirited, nomadic soul to accompany me on this journey! Always down for philosophical conversation, adventuring, good food, beautiful landscapes, and great company! I have studied Political Science with a particular interest in the refugee crisis and global politics/immigration. Always looking for new perspectives and those who are interested in volunteer work. I love hiking, art, cooking, writing, gardening...much more. Also looking to improve my Italian and Spanish speaking skills.

Next Destination(s):
Route: Scotland, England, Ireland (Studying at University of Galway), France, Belgium, Romania,
Bulgaria...to be
determined.


Helper Description:
Hello all!
Looking to work starting June, 2018
I'm currently living in Arcata, California in the United States. I'm originally from San Francisco.
I am very creative and artistic~ I love illustration, design, printmaking, painting, embroidery, and sewing. I enjoy engaging in political and philosophical conversation and meeting people from all over the world. In my free time I like hiking, biking, cooking, journaling, reading, and live music. I also have a deep passion for writing and I hope to document snippets of the lives of people from all walks of life who I encounter throughout my adventures. I've come to hold great respect for the ability to be conscientious, open-minded, and a critical thinker and I do my best in life to be as loving, caring, and compassionate of a person as I can be. We have so much to learn from each other--and in my opinion, thats one of the greatest parts of being human. I am excited for all the helpX experiences to come!

Currently, I'm a journalist for Humboldt State University's College of Professional Studies and a writer for the Smullin Foundation Non-Profit Organization in Eureka, California.
I've interned at the Foreign Affairs Office in Chiang Mai, Thailand and I worked at a French Bakery and Italian Pizzeria, doing customer service, food preparation, and cleaning.

I did a HelpX work exchange in Ipoh, Malaysia at the Bed, Bike and Backpackers Hostel. My duties included checking in guests, cleaning the common-areas, changing linens, and watching over the hostel while the manager was gone.
With that being said, I am fairly new to utilizing helpX, as my studies have prevented me from having the time to travel and work. I am hoping to finally have the time over these next few years.

I speak fluent English and some very basic Italian. I am looking to improve my Italian and Spanish.

I'm a Political Science major with a minor in Philosophy and Women's Studies at Humboldt State University in Northern California. I will be graduating this May but continuing my courses in Ireland this Summer.

I also lived in Rome, Italy for 5 months and Chiang Mai, Thailand for 4 months, studying Eastern and Western Politics and Philosophy.