help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Reina Fennell

Reina Fennell, 20 from Canada (female)
Email: click here
Network: Canada
Present Country: Canada
Join Date: January 12, 2016
Last Updated: September 23, 2017
Last Signed In: September 23, 2017

Companion Ad:
I am scoping out driving from Kelowna to Saskatoon between August 15-20 (2017). I am open to a female companion or two for the drive if they are happy to chip in for gas :)

Next Destination(s):
Saskatoon, May 2018

Helper Description:
Currently (2017), I am entering my first year of veterinary medicine at the Western College of Veterinary Medicine. I will be living in Saskatoon 8 months of the year for the next four years. I am interested in finding a place to board my horse where I can work off some of his boarding fees. I would also like to HelpX on school breaks and possibly during transitions from the prairies back to the coast in the springs and falls.

I was born and raised on Haida Gwaii, a small island of BC's west coast. I am an explorer and traveller at heart. I love anything to do with the ocean, beaches, boats and wilderness adventure.

In 2015 I was introduced to workaway programs through Farm Helpers in New Zealand (FHiNZ). While abroad, I volunteered on two different farms on New Zealand's south island though the program. I was hosted by amazing families in both places. I really enjoyed learning about each locations culture and self-sustainable living practices.

Over the past couple years I have been living in Nova Scotia, working on a bachelor's of science in bioveterinary science. While in the maritimes I was able to HelpX over school breaks and during transitions from the east coast back to the west coast. Each of my HelpX experiences has been phenomenal and I continue to keep my eyes open for opportunities in between and around my university schedule.


My family has had a number of WWOOFers and backpackers stay with us over the years; it's such a great way to meet phenomenal people. Travel combined with volunteering is a good experience on both ends of the spectrum--for the host and the hosted!

My primary skills:
horsemanship
animal care
farm maintenance
manual labour ( trail building, treeplanting, painting, fencing, weeding, etc.).

I'm always open to learning new things! I am passionate about living a healthy, active lifestyle. I enjoy learning about anything cooking or recreation-related that enhances this :)

Past employment:
-Richardson Ranch summerranch hand (summer 2016)
-Treeplanting (west coast)
-Municipal Village Maintenance Crew
-Eagle crest ent. Contracting work ( including trail building and dock maintenance for fishing lodges)
-Haida Wild fish processing/packaging plant
-Haida Gwaii recreation summer program assistant (kids day camps)


Past Volunteer and/or HelpX Experiences:
-Morningstar Farm/Little Qualicum Cheeseworks (X2 - BC)
-Laskeek Bay Conservation Society (Haida Gwaii)
-Chase River vet clinic (Van Isl.)
-Truro Animal Hospital (NS)
-Forever Memories Equestrian Centre (NS)
-Lake Else Teen camp (BC)
-Haida Gwaii Animal Hospital (BC)
-Blue Raven Farm (NS)
-Hinchinbrook Farm (NS)
-Peel Forest Farmstay (NZ)
-Tira Ora Wildlife Sanctuary (NZ)
-Misty Isle Bible camp (Haida Gwaii)

I look forward to meeting you!