help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Niklas van Megen

Niklas van Megen, 28 from Germany (male)
Email: click here
Network: New Zealand
Present Country: Australia
Join Date: June 20, 2014
Last Updated: February 14, 2018
Last Signed In: February 22, 2018

Companion Ad:
You walk where I do? Get in touch!

Next Destination(s):
I'll be coming to New Zealand in March 2018 and staying throughout the year. Need help?

Helper Description:
:) BRIEF
During most of my years at school and travels throughout Europe, America and Australia I enjoyed working as a general handyman which gave me the opportunity to develop skills in several fields including carpentry, construction, painting, (basic) electrical work, gardening, kitchen work et al. I like to get my hands dirty while being eager to try out and learn new skills. I fulfil tasks to the best I can independent of job description or payment.

Furthermore I've been working as a professional web developer a skill set and passion I always like to put to action.

I am looking for easy going people which can give me the opportunity and trust to put my skills to test and develop them further.

Also a nice conversation over beer is ever appreciated.


EXPERIENCE
+ Built a wooden training dummy out of fresh bamboo in Costa Rica
+ Worked on a farm in Western Australia
+ Worked as kitchen hand and bartender/waiter in a restaurant/bar/club in Western Australia (WA RSA)
+ Did fencing, tractor driving and general farm work on a farm in South Australia
+ Helped prepare and run events at an event venue in Australia
+ Helped clearing a piece of land to build a house on
+ Built the floor for a Ballet Dance Studio in Sydney
+ Plastered and rendered walls for a HelpX host in Victoria, Australia
+ Worked in the garden for an Australian farmer: weeding, picking, etc.
+ Enjoyed chopping heaps of firewood
+ Worked in a Cafe in England
+ Worked at an advertising agency as website developer in Germany
+ Helped a family refurbish their bricks and mortar house in Germany
+ Worked as kitchen hand preparing and serving food, but mostly just washing dishes at Turkish weddings(What is the saying? From dishwasher to millionaire!?)
+ Worked as a caretaker for commercial and apartment buildings in the USA
+ Helped a guy refurbish his timber frame farm house in North-Western USA
+ Worked as cashier in a grocery store
+ Worked in a German carpentry
+ Worked for a company installing windows, doors, sun blinds, etc.
+ Did several gardening and loan mowing jobs
+ Tutored high-school math for a decade

FACTS
I don't smoke
I do eat meat but don't rely on it
I can cook my own (and others') meals
I drink alcoholic beverages
I am more introvert than extrovert
I like to build stuff
I can drive manual cars and tractors (limited experience, no forklift license)
I like logic and structure
I have international health insurance
I say yes to most everything
I am a white, straight, single man
I am comfortable around kids and know my manners
I tend to be a perfectionist
I dropped out of college twice (Math and Computer Science, respectively)
I am optimistic
I keep myself and my surroundings tidy
I enjoy practicing Qi Gong and Taiji daily
I value patience
I will respect you who ever you are, what ever you do

LIKES
I build things, mostly with code or wood. I am interested in eastern arts and enjoy the practice of mind and body. I enjoy reading and a good movie. I listen to a wide range of music and play the three-string guitar. I am always good for an exhausting hike or a night of camping including - of course - the obligatory bonfire.

NOTE
In case you are interested in hosting me and you can't find the information you were looking for, just get in touch and ask, please. :)