help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Jacky lou Chan

Jacky lou Chan, 33 from Philippines (female)
Email: click here
Network: International
Present Country: Philippines
Join Date: July 11, 2013
Last Updated: November 27, 2017
Last Signed In: December 6, 2017

Companion Ad:
I plan to trek from Jiri to Everest Base camp sometime on March-April 2018 and would be interesting to do it with a like-minded helpX-er. Feel free to email me if you are also looking for a trekking partner. :)

Next Destination(s):
2018: Nepal (Feb-May) | Malaysia (May - June) | TBD

Helper Description:
Hi, there. My name is Jacky from Philippines. I have travelled around South, Southeast Asia and like any other traveller, I would like to see and experience the world more as long as possible. In line with this, I plan to travel slowly and do some work exchange or volunteer work in a farm, resort or hostel. I'm also open to other options such as teaching english to non-speakers, coaching kids to play sports, house and pet sitting, construction, gardening, painting jobs, or any task that will give me the opportunity to immerse myself to the culture and daily life of the locals.

Before I quit my job and started travelling, I was a project site administrator for an Australian company based in the Philippines and managed the operation of 13 executive houses, 1 campsite for 150+ rank and file workers and the logistics in running the project site. I have also worked as a human resource practitioner for the private sector, and volunteered at Habitat for Humanity Philippines (http://www.habitat.org.ph), Gawad Kalinga (http://www.gk1world.com/home) and Southeast Asian Foundation for Children's Television, a non-profit organization based in Quezon City, Philippines, which promotes child-friendly programs and responsible television viewing.

I majored in psychology and studied organic agriculture, as well. I am a vegetarian. I like the outdoors and I prefer the mountains more than the lakes or the seas. I am passionate about sports and music. I believe in living a simple life, being grateful and always ALWAYS giving back.

I love to learn something new, to be challenged, and to experience a new culture which is totally different from what I'm accustomed to. I like to learn a new language, to master a new skill like carpentry, to practice yoga, to gain extensive experience in organic farming or permaculture, and hopefully meet interesting people along the way.


I hope to see you soon and thank you in anticipation.


Best regards,
Jacky