help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Tom Whatson

Tom Whatson, 28 from United Kingdom (male)
Email: click here
Network: International
Present Country: United Kingdom
Join Date: July 27, 2009
Last Updated: October 17, 2017
Last Signed In: November 11, 2017

Companion Ad:
Planning for 2018, Southern and Eastern Africa. Always nice to meet other travellers, anyone welcome to message me if travelling or thinking of travelling in the region in 2018. (Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Tanzania, Botswana, Zambia, Kenya Uganda Ethiopia)

Next Destination(s):
Hi hosts, seeking helpex's in S.A March and April '18. Then travelling north and east for the next 6-8 months.

Helper Description:
Hi hosts! Another year, another profile update!

So I'm now looking for opportunities winter and Spring 2018 in Southern Africa (S.A, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Kenya etc)

I guess I'm quite experienced with these help-ex things now, I've been travelling and volunteering for over ten years, visited over twenty help-ex's in six countries and now I'm now planning again for the coming year.

I've been working in my home city, Newcastle, doing property maintenance since returning to the UK from India at the end of April. I'm just trying to save up money for flights etc so I can get away again around November.

I'm quite a practical person, I like physical work and getting my hands dirty. I've done lots of decorating, gardening & landscaping, building repairs, have chainsaw and dry-stone wall experience lots of DIY and comfortable using power tools and machinery.

Also I'm a Tefl qualified ESL teacher, and have experience working at two schools.

I'd describe myself as being a friendly, easy-going, liberally minded guy. I like writing, listening to and playing music and I write and record some rap. It's important for me to stay active and healthy, and I appreciate the benefits of a balanced diet and lifestyle. For me this ranges from yoga to higher intensity competitive sport, but always trying to maintain a balance and variety in my life. I'm always keen to meet and get to know new people and I've lots of experience working and living with people from all over the world. I'll always try and communicate despite any language barriers. I speak a little French.

I am totally open to any offers anywhere in the world, I prefer longer term and the chance to 'settle' somewhere and really be a part of a project.

Look forward to hearing from you hosts!