Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Marijn Akveld

Marijn Akveld, 21 from Netherlands (female)
Email: click here
Network: Australia
Present Country: Netherlands
Join Date: January 9, 2015
Last Updated: September 23, 2017
Last Signed In: September 23, 2017

Companion Ad:
Hi everyone! I'm Marijn from The Netherlands, a 22-year old student living in Utrecht. I'm going to Australia on may 1st and i'm hoping to do some volunteer work in Queensland around Brisbane. If you want a travel companion let me know! I'm outdoorsy, love books and I am a BIG animal lover, fan of hiking and running and just nature all together.

Next Destination(s):
America

Helper Description:
Hi everyone!

My name is Marijn and 'm planning on going to Australia this may. I would like to do some volunteer work from the 7th of May until the end of June. I'll first go to Sydney, then travel up to Brisbane. I will be available for volunteer work around Brisbane.

Something about me: I am a 22-year old female student from Utrecht, the Netherlands. I am currently studying my bachelor of laws and I will graduate this April in 2015. Some of my hobbies include: reading books, listening to music (big jazz fan!), socializing and getting to know other people's cultures and as such I consider myself quite open-minded. I am also a big animal lover, thrive at best when living in nature and traveling is one of my favorite hobbies.

A list of skills and experiences:
- I consider myself quite a good cook. I am a pescetarian which means I don't eat meat but I do eat fish. I however have no trouble in preparing others peoples meals where there is meat involved. I am a big fan of the cookbook series "The Green Kitchen" and Ottolenghi's cookbook "Plenty"

- I have a couple of years experience in elderly care and assisted living. I also have work experience with dementia care.

- I am a very thorough and good cleaner. I learned this from my work experience in elderly care as well.

- I can do basic repair work such as basic sewing and knitting.

- I consider myself quite the organizer. I am a person who believes in structure and organizing. Therefore I love to clean, sort clutter and create order wherever needed. (Some friends have called me the real life version of Monica of the TV show Friends ;) )

- I do know how to ride a horse however it has been a long time since I did it. I rode horses when I was a child for three years and then a year when I was 18. So I am capable however I would not do any experienced riding because I don't think I have the capability for it.

- Overall I am a very hard worker. My view on life is one which has a positive attitude. I believe in working hard and not complaining about it. My work ethics is a strong one and I am not frightened to get my hands dirty. I have a good stamina as well, I sport 4 times a week and run half marathons. But overall I would describe myself as someone who is very open minded, a hard worker and who has a soft spot for all animals and the joy of being in nature.

What I would like to do:
I'm looking for a place where I can learn some set of skills particularly farming skills. I would love to stay at a ranch or a organic farm and do some work there.

I would like to stay at a place where I'm welcomed in the family and where there are meals shared together. I am very sociable and would love to get to know your family :)

If this appeals to you, send me a message and maybe I can help you out with work :)

PS: The first picture is a general picture of just me and the second one is when I'm trying to ride a bicycle in the muddy rural wetland area of Laos :) Just to give you some idea of who I am