Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 10193
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

New Zealand
All Year: Conditional
Area (ha): 0.8
Persons: 1
Category: Other
Host ID: 10193
Region: Coromandel

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 7, 2018

Space available after Easter (except 2nd week in May).
Please read this first: we are now living in the small house and can only offer accommodation for ONE person( = no couples). Patrick's health does not allow him to do much physical work, thus we would like to welcome occasional help around the garden/property/maintenance preferably from a male helper, or possibly a strong woman, minimum age 21, non-smoking vegetarian/vegan (although we can accommodate meat, but not smoking).

We live outside of Thames, down a quiet country lane, near the Kauaeranga River with beautiful swimming spots nearby in summer.

We aren't slave drivers and recognise that you are here foremost to enjoy a holiday and explore. We would like 3 hours a day, however you can manage that to suit (more some days, less others). Length of stay is usually 1 or 2 weeks, but is negotiable. In return we offer 3 meals a day, a comfortable double bed (including sheets, pillow, duvet and heated blanket) in your own room. No TV, but Netflix in the lounge, and unlimited WiFi.

We have enjoyed meeting all kinds of people, young and older, and will actively help to make your stay enjoyable. We love sharing experiences with our guests, and like to discuss views on life, spirituality if it comes up, but are quite open and non-religious. We don't smoke and alcohol doesn't play a role in our lives. Enjoy music and dancing. Christiane is fluent in both English and German, and a little French.

A bike is available, and the 4kms into Thames are all fairly flat. You will find, though, that a car is a big advantage in getting around the Coromandel Peninsula.

Patrick's hobbies include engineering and electronics, so there is a reasonably well set up workshop that you would be welcome to use for interest or your own projects. Included in the workshop is a 900x400 mm lathe, mill-drill, cut-off saw, gas and electric welders; and on the electronics side; 100 MHz oscilloscope, DVMs (lots), temp-controlled soldering iron, micro-drill, bread-boards, and a wide selection of passive and active components that have accumulated over the years!

Work is mainly ground maintenance, gardening and getting the place tidied up. It's getting too much for us, as much as we love it.

E-mail inquiries preferred and we'll answer as soon as we read them.

Please be aware that we are often booked out for weeks in advance, but now I try to let people know on this website if and when we are booked.

Look forward hearing from you!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use