Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 10222
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 5
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 10222
Region: Western Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 28, 2011

1927 brick house on two levels surrounded by tall deciduous and native trees which keep the house reasonably cool. A large lily pond inhabited by long-necked tortoises waters the shrubs and roses. On the other side of a small winter creek is a wild area with deciduous and natives standing in long grass. This borders on a hectare of quiet public park with two dams and a peace labyrinth. At the front of the house stands a tall birch, which has just died due to the drought with a brick paved terrace which encircles it and a fenced off Badminton area. On the West side is a small orchard with two empty chicken houses, a passion fruit vine, grapes, an orange tree, two mandarins, two apple, a plum an apricot and a grapefruit. Only the mandarin trees and a quince tree over the creek are still bearing fruit. To the rear of the house a giant Claret Ash overshadows the recently tinned roof with a Chinese Elm and a Liquid Amber assisting it with some badly needed shade.
The front steps lead to a veranda and a front-door which opens on to a small passage. To the left is a T.V. lounge room, to the right, a kitchen which opens on to a sitting room with a low sloping ceiling and floor to ceiling windows. These rooms were built on to the back veranda in 1982 and four small room are underneath; - a tiled laundry with shower and toilet, a bedroom next to it and a former bedroom containing three of our four children's belongings and a drumming practice/junk room. An extra bedroom with toilet, shower and wash basin, and a balcony was built on to the West end of the sitting room in 2002 and in the same year, a small bedroom was built into the roof, reached by a wooden ladder from the passage that leads South from the sitting-room. Three bedrooms lie to the right of this passage and a bathroom and the T.V. lounge to the left.
I was born in 1940, I am now retired and was separated from my wife Ros, fourteen years ago. My interests are silent meditation, meeting people, music, literature, sculpture, painting, architecture, walking/trekking, anything to do with the sea and swimming. I share the house with our eighteen year old son Hugh, a 9 year old Norwegian Elk-hound, 'Oscar', and a 20 year old reasonably incontinent tortoiseshell, 'Bliss'.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use