help exchange   Host 1042
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Cheviot
All Year: All year
Area (ha): 8
Persons: 1-4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 1042
Region: North Canterbury

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 10, 2020

We are looking for positive, happy, enthusiastic and outgoing people to join our life style.

We are looking for people to assist with outdoor tasks:
* gardening
* planting
* landscaping
* tree cutting
* splitting firewood
* small building jobs
* general maintenance around our property and house.

We are also looking for skilled people such as:
* builder
* stone mason
* tiler
* carpenter
etc to help us with some specific tasks that we need help with.

We ask for 4 hours a day assistance, in exchange for free accommodation, etc. We also provide internet, have bicycles that you can use and have a large well-equipped gym that you are welcome to use.

We have built a cosy self-contained cabin on our property about 100 meters from our house, down near a small stream, which you will be staying in (see photos).

Please note we do not provide food. We ask you to buy and provide your own food, and cook for yourself in the cabin.

There is a local supermarket in the township (about 1.5 kms away).

WHO WE ARE:

Ellis and Sanna are a fun, loving, easygoing couple. We believe in living life to the fullest and love to meet new people from different countries and experience their culture. Between us, we have travelled extensively and know what it is like to be in a new country far away from home.

Sanna is from Finland and Ellis from New Zealand. We have a cat (Ziggy) and a dog (Sasha).

Over the past 15 years we have built our own home, The Tree House, situated on top of a small hill overlooking the distant Inland Kaikoura Mountains. Our house is a 3 story, rustic dwelling with loads of character and Kiwi ingenuity. We have two massive trees up through the center of the house. The back bone structure is made up of huge hand milled beams with a natural timber ceiling. We also have built the biggest rock fire place you probably will see in NZ.

We are both into health and fitness. Sanna is a personal trainer. We have our own gym / fitness studio that you will be more than welcome to use.

We have a couple of mountains bikes you are welcome to use. Our local beach is only 8 kms away and there are some nice walks and tracks that you can explore.

If you feel like a real Kiwi / Finnish experience then feel to get in touch with us.

We are approximately 1 hour 15 minutes drive from Christchurch, 45 minutes from Kaikoura, 1 hour 15 minutes from Hanmer Springs and 1 hours drive from Mt Lyford ski field. There is a local surf beach, Gore Bay, only 8 kilometres away from us.

Thanks :)

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use