help exchange   Host 10478
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Airlie Beach
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 67
Persons: 5+ (more if camping)
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 10478
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 10, 2019

SORRY ---NOT--- TAKING ANY HELPERS AT THE MOMENT!!

We have moved farms and the new place is fabulous ... although it is still very rough.

We will still be, baking bread, feeding horses and chickens, growing vegies, growing sprouts and micro greens. We are not milking and making cheese at this time but with enough help will get back into that was well.

We are establishing a new sustainable farm which has no mains power and limited running water. If you need comfort you better bring your own hahaha. ... otherwise be prepared to rough it a bit as the new accommodation will be more like camping.

At this new location priorities will be setting up and finishing more accommodation, and building/fixing the roads. Plans also include building tree houses, track development, a meditation hall, solar and/or hydraulic ram water pumps, a cob oven and clay stove. If you have any previous experience in carpentry, earth moving, concreting, painting, sign writing, electrical wiring, horses, or gardening don't hesitate to mention it. It will be an exciting and challenging time learning how to set up a sustainable home. The new location does have swimming holes and water falls and magnificent views and rainforest bush walking in the National Park within a few hundred meters!!

...

We are a fairly organic permaculture home with 2 dogs, horses, chickens and a milk cow, living in the Whitsundays (15mins by car to Airlie Beach or Proserpine). We live a very quiet lifestyle, *NO drugs, tobacco or alcohol*, vegetarian diet and do Vipassana meditation. We would love some help in the vegie patch, milking cows, making cheese, growing sprouts and micro greens, building things, general household duties and for interested people some help working on our not-for-profit NGO which facilitates grass roots empowerment projects around the world.

As per Helpx guidelines ... We expect 4-6hrs work per day. You can work extra some days to take days off. Every so often we go snorkeling or diving (PADI cert. and some equipment required) on the reef, sailing, bushwalking, kayaking and random other outdoorsy stuff.

We prefer a stay from 1 week up to 2 weeks maximum. YES we DO sign off on the 3 month rural work for the 2nd year working holiday visa extension for the time you are here.

Internet reception is limited to Facebook and Emails ... No video up/downloading, NO Utube!! We just don't have enough data allowance on the 3G internet sorry and when it runs out we have NO internet till next month.

I can pick up and drop off from Airlie Beach on Saturday, Monday and Wednesdays only unless I happen to be in town on another day. Alternatively there is a "public" bus a few times a day which stops at the "Brandy Creek" bus stop between Cannonvale and Proserpine.


Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use