Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 10549
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Area (ha): 0.364
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 10549
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 3, 2018

We are an English couple aged 64 and 66, who speak just a little Portuguese. The house has a garden to one side and behind. Adjacent is an olive grove with fig trees. Our home will enable you to experience the real Algarve, where shepheards can still be seen minding their sheep and goats.
It is situated about 75 metres from the centre of a small village in the hills,approximately 20 mins drive from Faro city, airport and the nearest beaches. It is about 8 kms from the towns of Loule and Sao Bras. There is a limited bus service to the village from Faro and Loule.

We have lived here since 2005 and have slowly refurbished and updated.
What we are looking for is help with mainly outside general maintenance, repairs, painting, gardening,pruning. Someone who is competent with a strimmer and a chainsaw would be appreciated. A person who can erect guttering would also be welcome. A small amount of inside painting needs doing too. There is room outside for more wall mural work or a piece of 3D art for a gifted artist to create.

We are flexible in terms of times for work hours but think that 20 hours minimum per week is reasonable. We only ever offer initially up to a two week stay with the possible option of extending the time if both hosts and helpers are happy with each other. Please note we do not take helpers in July and August as it is too hot to do sustained physical work during this time.

Internet access is available.

The dog we have is very gentle and loves people, however she does not get on well with other animals. We therefore can not take anyone who is travelling with their own animals.

We are non-smokers . We are a genuine couple who would appreciate a little help. Please contact us ONLY if your intentions are serious. We enjoy meeting people from different countries and cultures.I need to point out that we are a homestay host only.

The lifestyle we have is simplistic and not materialistic in nature, however we do not feel that our way of life is compatible with those practising new age sustainable living, vegan diets, meditation etc.

We do require profile details about EACH applicant, which should include a photograph plus references. If you are new to HelpX and do not have any host references then please supply character references and/or references from previous employers.

Accommodation on offer is a separate downstairs apartment (shown in the photographs) with its own entrance. This consists of a lounge and dining area, kitchenette with a fridge, microwave, toaster and kettle , a bedroom with 2 single beds and separate bathroom. We have a dehumidifier, electric heaters and a pellet burner should they be needed for your comfort. Meals will be provided as required. Breakfast and lunch can be taken in the apartment or grounds with the evening meal being a shared time. It is suitable for a couple, or pair of friends though a single person would be welcomed.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use