Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 1055
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Clare Island
All Year: No, March to October
Area (ha): 95
Persons: up to 4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 1055
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 5, 2018

Macalla farm is a 240 acres farm (some of it planted with trees) on an island off the West coast of Ireland. We have ducks, sheep and horses, as well as the usual cats and dogs.
We grow most of our vegetables and fruit in our gardens and polytunnels and in the spring and summer, we produce yoghurt and cheese from sheep`s milk. We also run a yoga and meditation retreat centre and training courses in vegetarian cooking, natural horsemanship and natural horse care.
We are currently looking for one or two person to start as soon as possible and stay until the end of August at least. This position would best suit someone with gardening or building experience. No teenagers and no smokers. We would prefer someone with an active interest in organic food production, self sufficiency or sustainable living. An interest in yoga or meditation would also be an advantage, as this is an important part of life at Macalla farm and there will be opportunities to take part in some of the yoga sessions offered at the farm in the summer. About 30 hours work / week, most of it outdoor, with one or two days off / week. Accommodation in a caravan, the food is delicious, organic and strictly vegetarian (but not vegan as we have milking sheep and ducks for eggs). Horse riding is possible for experienced riders who have their own riders insurance, but not for beginners.
We also have room for one or two helpers in September and October for stays of two weeks minimum. Accommodation is in a comfortable house shared with other helpers. Work will be a combination of gardening, cooking and building (mostly maintenance).
There`s plenty of time to read (helpers can borrow books from our large library), write, or explore the island, but note that we don`t have TV and that Internet access is somewhat limited as we are on an offshore island.
If you are interested in our place, please write (through our website) with details of your relevant experience, the skills you have that could be useful the reasons why you would like to come, and the dates you would be available. If you can, also send us a photo (or a link to one on the Internet), as we like to know what prospective helper look like :)







Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use