Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 10577
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.75
Persons: 2 max
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 10577
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 29, 2011

We are an English couple in their 40's who have been living in the La Taha district of the beautiful Alpujarra mountains in Southern Spain for seven years. We are an hours drive from Granada and just over an hour to the coast. We are 2.5 hours drive from Malaga and Almeria airports.
We have recently bought a lovely little cortijo (farm) which we are currently reforming and are very keen to live an organic lifestyle. We have very little experience with gardening and are still learning but after having the fabulous experience of picking and eating the fruits of our first year labours, I'd almost forgotten how real veggies supposed to taste, are very keen to continue with our education. Our neighbours have been very helpful and have been teaching us traditional techniques and about gardening to the luna calendar....a surviving local tradition.
Cortijo del Cura (home of the priest or cure) is set in a beautiful, quiet valley 20 minutes walk and a few minutes drive from the seven beautiful, Berber style villages of the La Taha. We have fabulous views and apart from our neighbour who has a cortijo a little distance up the track and who is only there occasionally at weekends, we are completely undisturbed. The only sounds are from the river below and the wide variety of birdlife and the nightly visits from the foxes. The night skys are fabulously starry as we have no light pollution.
We have just under a hectare of terraced land around and below the house and a further hectare a few minutes walk away with a spring which supplies our domestic water.

We are solar powered so have to be a little careful with our energy usage and our drinking water we get from local village fountains.
Accommodation would have to be in tents or in our camper van but you would be able to use the house bathroom. Meals would also be in the house with us and you would have use of the kitchen etc when you like. We are not vegetarians though of course fruit and veg make up a large part of our diet. We are happy to cook and share our food but you can also cook if you want. Breakfasts are help yourself.
We have two dogs, Zippy and Freeby and three cats, Mojo, Gladys and Milly.
The main work would be clearing and planting land, weeding, pruning, fruit picking in the season, various small building projects like a compost loo and wood store, general maintenance, help with developing our irrigation system, repairing our alberque (water deposit) etc.
It wouldn't all be work of course, we want you to enjoy your stay with us and have the opportunity to explore and enjoy this beautiful area.
We will be happy to show you some of the sights and of course you will have time to explore on your own.
There are some great nights of local music to be had and The Mori Luna run by Carlos and his family is the best bar in the Alpujarras!
Life here is quiet, we enjoy walking and music and love attending the local fiesta's of which there are many, particularly in the summer months.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use