Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 10852
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Kingsbridge Devon
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.2
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 10852
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 11, 2018

Devon - general help with garden, clearing ground, weeding, firewood, fencing., a little help in the house with cleaning etc.

We would love to meet someone who is able to help us with mostly outside jobs. Some of the work is quite hard so you must be strong and fit, and willing to work in all weathers! Also routine jobs like feeding / cleaning out hens, weeding and tidying.

We also have painting in the house to do, so experience of this would be helpful.

We are musicians (traditional/folk) living in the South Hams of Devon - an area of outstanding natural beauty. We are self employed in musical instrument repairs and always in need of more time for our business - the reason we need some help. We live in an old cottage in a village with a bakery and a pub.

We are looking for someone to help who is strong and able and thoroughly practical.

We have 2 dogs - a terrier and a large white Shepherd (both rescued), a Lusitano horse and 10 hens!

We anticipate help for approx 20/25 hours per week - can negotiate the days / times worked but at least 1 full day off per week (usually 2)

We don't need any help with cooking!

We are 3 miles from the sea, lovely beaches and some good surfing and water sports - in Kingsbridge you can hire kayaks and also go stand up paddle boarding. This is also good walking country. There is a shop and a good pub in the village, although it is quiet and there are few young people! however we are just 3 miles from Kingsbridge, a small market town which offers a range of shops, cinema, bars, live music and a night club!
There is a (limited) bus service to Kingsbridge, but other than that you will need to walk or cycle to get around, or have own transport of some description.
We ask that helpers have their own insurance against illness, accident and injury.
We can offer your own comfortable room in the house and all meals /food for meals provided.
Please note - we prefer a mostly vegetarian diet, a little fish and a little locally sourced meat, so you must be happy with this.
For breakfast we provide cereals or toast, for lunch sandwiches / soup etc, and we will provide a good cooked evening meal. All teas, coffee, soft drinks, biscuits provided but not alcohol - you will have to supply your own if you want it, and also any extras like chocolate, snacks etc.
We are always happy to take our guests along with us on outings, into town etc. and most enjoy coming to local music sessions and the local pub, and for walks on Dartmoor or to the beach. During the summer, there is quite a lot going on in the area - village fairs, regattas, lots of live music, but although all fairly local it does involve a little travelling around!
We do not accept heavy drinkers or drug takers.
Smoking outside only.
Wifi is available on a fair usage basis.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use