help exchange   Host 10944
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 6 acres
Persons: 2 singles/couple
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 10944
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 21, 2015

Steve and I (Maggie) live in the beautiful Sunshine Coast hinterland with a short drive to places like Mapleton, Montville, Maleny, Noosa, Caloundra and Maroochydore.

Due to Steves ill health, we basically need help maintaining and improving our small property. We are wanting to create an organic veggie garden, and orchard which is underway. Our desire is to achieve some self sustainable.

The property is planted with bamboo, palms, cycads and native plants in parts. Improving, maintaining and developing a lawn is on the work list for this year.

We currently have 4 overfriendly dogs, chooks, geese, ducks, guinea fowl, 3 donkeys and 6 miniature goats which I am wanting to breed.

Work would/could include
- general land tidying, mulching, weeding etc.
- clearing paddocks
- general manual labour
- building a vegetable garden
- building a chook pen/run
- fencing
- painting
- building or plumbing experience a bonus!
- cleaning
- generally helping out with whatever needs doing.

Skills with tools, whippersnipper/brushcutter, ride on mower, chainsaw, fencing; handyman for general maintenance around the house would be very helpful.

You will have your own living space in a self contained cabin.
You will be provided with food for breakfast, lunch and dinner, which you can prepare and have in the cabin or sometimes you may have dinner in the main house with us. We will sometimes provide wine with dinner.

We also expect you to clean the cabin really well before you leave to ensure it is left as clean as you found it. This is not counted in your work hours.
There is space for your own campervan.

We ask for 5 hours work per day, 5 days. Min 1 week.

We always like to welcome people with building or fencing experience and who can use a chainsaw safely.

We want help from people who are prepared to do outdoor work that requires physical labour and who don't mind getting their hands dirty!

We are hoping that a stay with us will be just as rewarding for you as it will be for us. That the experience will be a pleasant one..if it works for both parties then an extended stay is welcome.

Your OWN TRANSPORT is essential if you want to do any sightseeing.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use