Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 11111
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: May to October
Area (ha): 63
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 11111
Region: Ontario

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 21, 2018

We are a smallfamily of three homesteading in beautiful Northern Ontario. Although we have run ourfarm as a business in the past, as of 2017we are no longer operating as a commercial farm. Instead we are homesteading and growing food for our family and friends. We have a largevegetable garden, a young orchard, large berry patch, egg laying chickens, a family cow and a pony.

There's lots of work to be done on the farm and we would love some help! Work could involve daily care of livestock (feeding, watering, collecting eggs), garden work (weeding, adding compost, planting and picking vegetables), cleaning out barns, construction projects, fencing and painting.

We live in the bush - home to black bears, moose, deer and lots of other wildlife - including mosquitos! It is a large property (150+ acres) on a quiet road with very distant neighbours. We are surrounded by beautiful, wild forests and Canadian shield rock, with about 10 cleared acres of pasture and gardens.

We have our own private lake for swimming (with a dock!) and lots to do if you like the outdoors. We are about 25km south of downtown Sudbury, and we regularly go into town (especially on weekends).

Helpers generally work 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. All food is included and meals are usually shared with the family (2 adults and 1 child). We eat food grown on thefarm as much as possible and enjoy making food from scratch. There is a nice private living space for helpers with a double bed and private bathroom. 2 (big) dogs (one is still a puppy) live in the house with us as well as a cat, so this situation would not be suitable for someone with allergies to dogs and/or cats. Non-smokers only please!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use