Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 11188
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: no
Area (ha): 4
Persons: 1 to 7
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 11188
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 8, 2017

Hello, Bonjour :) Namasté !

Would you like to come and enjoy a most extraordinary landscape ?
Endless peaceful views; green hills and valleys, lakes and untouched forests, a paradise for wildlife !
The place is mostly aimed on running a tree nursery saving ancient fruit varieties, (there are more than 900 fruit trees in reprodution here !!), a tremendous activity and realisation !
I am also passionate about Vipassana Meditation, Kundalini Yoga, peaceful lifestyle, raw food, gentleness to the planet and all beings...

Would you like to take part in this adventure ? Here are the dates for the next two sessions :
From 10th to 26th of October, then another session from 6th to 22nd of november.
I can welcome hardy, joyful and self-sufficient volunteers who are happy to work and be in nature.
Sorry I am alergique to smoke, so could be difficult for smokers. I can't welcome dogs either as the tiny baby trees are so fragile!
There are only five places, and due to too many people who don't turn up at the last minute I ask for a caution of 50 euros that I give back to you as soon as you arrive or multiplied by two by the end of your stay !

By being here you can benefit from a skill knowledge of 20 years of permaculture, but you have to pick up the experience while going through activities together, keep a notebook in hand ! to keep all questions for moments when I'm available to answer :)
You can also receive trees and amazing plants in exchange for your help here, if I'm happy with it !
I will need your email to be able to send you the schedule document with more details about the program.

I am also looking for the right person to employ on a long term basis as a partner for the tree nursery.


Four hectares of Permaculture gardens, orchards, forest gardens, over 900 different species of fruit trees and thousands of trees and perfumed plants and flowers.
A huge tree nursery which is much too much work for a single person to manage with, hopefully soon there will be an extra person.. The association is called : Vive la biodiversité ! » and it's aim is to help sustain the tree nursery project, organise courses about how to take care of trees and nature and biodiversity through all it's shapes. You will get to meet most probably other amazing volunteers, two cats, lots of bees and other amazing insects...
A couple of kms away there is also a family pottery workshop creating beautiful strong stoneware with blue glaze.

I've built a few ecological houses, you will see the amazing stone house that I built with my little hands , but is not yet finished, (hard to find the time!!) I have also built a beautiful earthship (see photos!) built out of mainly recycled materials, it's in cordwood, it is my workshop and office. On the land we use a compost toilet which you can see in the photos, with a lovely view !

You will be staying in a little house two kms distance from the gardens, those are the commodities I can offer for now for comfort, toilets, hot water, kitchen and dining room... I rent this house especially to welcome volunteers because the periods when I most need help it can be too cold for camping. (See more details below in ACCOMODATION)


I'm a kind, generous and sensitive person, but so very busy with the tree nursery and at the moment struggling with Lyme disease since last year.
I am a sort of nature freak that feeds from being alone with and within nature, human relations can be quite difficult for me though I love people ! I prefer to meet them one by one and take time, the only difficulty here is that there is enough work for ten ! So I do organise sessions when I welcome many volunteers at once, hoping they can benefit from the presence of each other !
I should mention that due to severe health problems since birth, I require a special diet and unfortunately will not be eating with the volunteers. I like to have my meal as meditative time alone. So we can try and take time to meet around other activities : while weeding, pruning, collecting...

Yahia :
Je suis un associé de Chloë, et je viens un jour ou deux par semaine. J'aime les gens, la nature, les jardins, le ju-jutsu traditionel, la Vie !...

Joël :
Je suis le voisin qui viens travailler à la pépinière de temps en temps, je ne parle pas anglais et je peux vous faire découvrir la région et la culture d'ici:)

WORKWISE Activities

I will be asking from you some serious devotional work around the trees ! Digging out trees is both a delicate and physical activity, it takes a little while to get the hang of how it works and learn about all the different shapes and fragilities of roots ! A pear tree is nothing like a peach tree, you will be able to meet all the different fruit tree and become close mates !
In this period I need lots of help because the tree nursery project is a great mission that is a priority in my life now. I am trying to save ancient local varieties of fruit trees, there is already over 230 species of apple trees! You will be able to taste some...

About the rythme, it is quite intense, we have to adapt to the weather forcast because it is not pleasant when pooring with rain, so we can do longer days when the sun is out.
I will need to feel that the mission is coming along smoothly with the new team so if you can help me with that it would be cool (there are so many trees to dig out in so little time, it's a challenge !)
The average time I am asking for is 6 hours per day, 5 days a week, you can join for more if you wish in exchange for pocket money. I will send you the program exel document by email as soon as you give your email.

At the beginning I have to be there with you to make sure all is going fine, there are thousands of varieties and labels to put on, according to how the trees come out (what sort of rootstock) : and with or without roots ? The mole rats eat so many. So we will get organised all together about the next days timing. I am also happy to spend some time, in a one to one relationship and teach/delegate special actions according to your whishes and skills.

Along with digging out trees, there will be digging out potatoes, brambles, putting labels on, building beds for the plants in pots, sorting out trees, dipping them in a magical potion (made from cow poo, clay and plant extracts)... and helping on markets for those who speak french and like to adapt to crazy hours ! (getting up at six!)


I have recently began to rent a house around 2 km from the land
The house has two bedrooms and hot shower and kitchen and living room, it is two kms from the tree nursery (there are three bicycles), there is no internet connection for now ...sorry.
There is plenty of skip food in addition to what I produce in the garden : squash, courgettes, and delicious jams and apple juice. There is also a lot of organic cereals and dry beans.
You are asked to treat this place as you would your own house for the time you stay. I will try and supply you with some fresh vegetables from the garden.
There are a couple of bicycles to get to and from the land and this should only take around 10 mins. It is a little uphill when cycling to the village but it is smooth sailing coming to the land so coming here may take maybe ( 5 mins or so)

Option for staying nearby between the sessions : 15km away lives a very lovely family of potters who can welcome you for a few days in exchange for some helping hand, let me know if you are interested in that option. The help there can involve babysitting, helping in the pottery workshop or organic gardens, it is a large family with indians, nepali, chinese, lots of children...
and other lovely hosts : Martin, Sam, ...

Have a great day ! And maybe see you soon !

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use