Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 11205
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.6
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 11205
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 18, 2016

* Please note, we are about to undertake some major building work and so are probably unable to take any Helpers until 2017.

A Georgian house on the outskirts of a small, coastal market town. Both house and garden are being restored. We are a family of five but the number of people in the house fluctuates between 1 and about 12, depending on the time of year. We are on the coast, within easy reach of lovely beaches and there is sailing, kayaking and surfing nearby. Excellent walking (we are on the South West Coast path) We run one holiday cottage, and at certain times of year, helpers would be able to stay in that. Otherwise, you would stay with us in the main house. The main house is warm and comfortable. We would prefer couples and can offer a lovely double room with private bathroom.

We are a non-smoking household. There are pets - two dogs and a cat.

We need help with clearing and restoring the garden and with the never-ending maintenance of an old house. Help on a Saturday with change-over in the cottage would also be much appreciated. At present the focus is on restoring the garden - think more jungle warfare than flowerbed weeding. The work includes cutting down small trees and clearing the undergrowth, making steps and pathways, and tending bonfires We would much prefer helpers to have already had experience of this sort of work.

Normally, we ask for 4 hours work in return for all meals and accommodation, although it may be easier to work one day on, on day off, and we are flexible about this. We are comparatively relaxed regarding length of stay, but prefer two week slots and not more than one month.

This is a wonderful part of the world. There are lots of things to see and do, and we are happy to show you around the area.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use