Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 11214
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Spring to Fall
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 1
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 11214
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 2, 2012

JANUARY 2012 UPDATE -------

I (Franois-Xavier, 38) am on my own on the farm right now and due to my own business schedule slightly overwhelmed with daily chores. These include:

feeding a small number of chickens and rabbits. (and clean their mess, though this is probably a once-only task for the duration of your stay here) This is the only chore which is truly vital and requires regularity.
remove ivy from tree trunks. (there are several hundreds of apple trees here, though of course not all are infested)
prune fruit trees (apple and pear) and bushes (redcurrant, blackcurrant). Some heavy pruning is required for most apple trees, it seems.

I am therefore looking for a helper to stay with me for the whole month of January. (provided we both get on after the initial 5-day trial period)

What I expect from you:

I am a pretty hard worker in my own field so I expect you to have a fair amount of work ethic. Im not insensitive to hippism and antimaterialistic counterculture but right now this is not what this farm needs.
To be fit and possibly physically strong enough to perform the above-mentioned tasks. Ideally to have experience in farming and garden skills.
To be gay-friendly but that goes without saying, right?

What you can expect from me:

To do some basic cooking, clean the house and do the shopping too.
To help you efficiently with learning French if needed as I am a trained and experienced language teacher.
To be fair, open-minded and generally not too dull.
To drive you to the next railway station and even to / back from Paris on certain weekends.

What you cant expect:

Unfortunately, I wont be able to share much of the work with you so you should be independent and feel comfortable and safe to work on your own. I know this is not an ideal situation but I want to be honest about it. Its not as if Ill be watching you slaving away either!
All tasks to be rewarding. (yes, it is frustrating to feed hens when they dont lay eggs!)
Warm, dry weather! (though winter has been exceptionally mild so far and this is by far the least humid area in Normandy)


On parle francais.
हिन्दी / नेपाली बोल लेते हैं.
Wir sprechen Deutsch.
ما فارسی حرف میزنیم.
We even happen to speak English.

A small farm located outside a small village in postcardesque Pays d'Auge, between Lisieux and Caen with convenient train connections.

Its five hectares include an apple orchard, berry bushes, a large hen house and some rabbit hutches.

We are new to farming and welcome any people able to share their knowledge or know-how or just eager to learn along. One of us is a trained and experienced French teacher so help in language learning is definitely part of the deal!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use