Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 11341
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.75 hectares
Persons: max 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 11341
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 15, 2015

The farm is an organic smallholding just outside Granada above the village of Monachil and at the foot of Sierra Nevada. We have about 20 cherry trees, 40 olive (many young), 10 walnuts, 5 almonds, and various other fruit trees. We also have a lot of vines and a wine press and make our own young wine (vino mosto). We have a veggie plot and grow many types of vegetables. We sometimes sell cherries and take olives to the local cooperative to be pressed but the rest is for our own use. We make jams and conserves with the vegetables so we have use all year round.
The work we need is help on the land and making conserves and some small building projects like fixing the compost and compost toilet and putting up shades and building an albergue (watering pool). We are also keen to get chickens and possibly a goat in the future and need to build a coral. At the moment we are trying to learn about permaculture. The accommodationj is in a caravan with an outdoor (though screened shower) and compost toilet. The caravan has cooking facilities though we may on occasion cook together. We don't provide food - except for what is collected from the land. The work hours would depend on what projects were happening at the time - for example when we are harvesting grapes and making wine we need to work for full days but a few of hours working is fine. There are regular buses to the village of Monachil and we can pick up from there. We have a family so it important that you enjoy being around children.
We also run a bike hire business.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use