help exchange   Host 11366
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Grey District
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 3 + couch, own cabin
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 11366
Region: West Coast

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 17, 2017

Note: At the moment I'm spending a lot of time in Nelson and am needing a hand with building all sorts of things. So let me know if either Nelson or Otira is on your itinerary.

Also, I'm often looking to employ people who have steel work or construction experience on a project-by-project basis.

I have a property in Otira on the western side of Arthurs Pass National Park.
The surrounding areas are stunning, with a lot of opportunity for trekking, rock and alpine climbing.
My property was formerly a road works depot, and as such is very industrial. It is sandwiched between a railway line and a highway which can be momentarily noisy.
I need some assistance to get things tidied up and make the place a bit more homely. There is a cabin that needs a little bit more work.

Possible work includes:

- General cleaning of the cabin
- Painting the window frames
- Digging post holes for a fence
- Cutting firewood

If you know how to use tools I have some small repair jobs to do on both my house and the cabin.

I have a good knowledge of the Arthur's Pass area and will happily drop you off at the start of a trail and look after your car. My place is secure and I can store vehicles for as long as you need.

There is a train daily to Christchurch and Greymouth
There are 2 buses daily to Christchurch and Greymouth
10 Kms from Temple Basin skifield
14 Kms from Arthurs Pass village
75 Kms to the beautiful West Coast

I have an engineering workshop and a small woodworking set-up for anyone who may be interested in helping out / trying something new??

If you are staying in the cabin it is self contained.( bathroom, stove, oven, fireplace, fridge etc )

I am a fairly laid back guy who loves climbing and hiking and meeting new people. I have done quite a bit of travelling myself and now want to help people see the best of New Zealand.

I have the internet if you need to use it, and a couple of pet goats.

I look forward to hearing from you!

Note: - the cabin is now complete and ready for use. It is self contained and available for short or long term use, if you wanted to base yourself in Arthurs Pass National Park for a day or a couple of months.

- I have 2 pet goats.

Updated info:

I have been doing this for 3 years now and am becoming more aware of the impressions and expectations people have, so wanted to try and give a clearer perspective of what living in Otira is actually like. Okay, so Otira is a really small village, there is virtually nothing going on here in terms of community or social events. What has drawn me here is the limitless opportunity for exploring the outdoors. Now I am coming to realize that, compared to many European and American national parks, the Arthurs Pass outdoor arena is really rugged. I have grown up with it so it seems quite normal, but the trails around here are comparitively (perhaps) steep and rough. The weather is rapidly changeable and of course depends on the season somewhat. That said, the views from the top are stunning and the fireplace at home is warm and cosy! Typical West Coast weather is lots of rain September - November and dry and warm December - March.

Mostly the jobs I need people to do are practical ( fixing, building, gardening, cleaning ) type jobs. It is not necessarily complicated and I am always willing to teach people who are willing to learn! I am not a hard taskmaster and expect people to do a fair amount of something out of their own motivation. If we break it down simply, you get your own cabin lets say that's worth $20 per night, and food is about $15 per day, so at the minimum I need $35 worth of work per day just to break even, and ideally a little bit more to make it worth my while. Now I'm not trying to put you off here, but I'm becoming a victim of my own chilled out-ness and occasionally being treated like a free motel. It's a lot easier for me to put this out there now!

All of that said, I am really enjoying meeting all the awesome people who have so far come through and my philosophy is steadfast that I always want everyone to be welcome at my house.

Also, for anyone looking for a place to stay longer term ( one month or more ) then we could probably arrange something. I want to keep travelling myself and am looking for people to house sit while I'm away. No dates in mind yet but I can try to work in with you.

Look me up on couchsurfing too :-)

Just a little note about me personally. I consider myself an environmentalist and try to stay aware how my actions impact the planet. I rarely eat meat and I think that money is corrupt. I'm working on making my lifestyle completely sustainable in terms of fuel, energy and food.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use