Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 11407
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: NONE
Area (ha): 0.5
Persons: NONE
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 11407
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 14, 2012


We live in a hill-side villa and we are surrounded by the beautiful Les Gavarres hills. We are in Calonge, Costa Brava, Catalonia, Spain about 100 km north of Barcelona (accessible by local bus & train service). The local beaches are 5 km away and the local towns of Calonge, Palamos and Platja D'aro are 4-8 km away. Girona is closest large town (35 km). The Costa Brava is a gorgeous part of the world with a fabulous coast-line and lots of walking, hiking, biking, diving and other outdoor activities. The Pyrenees mountains and France are 60-70 km away. Train and bus service to world-class Barcelona.

Our plot is an acre+ and consists of 3 roughly equal areas of virgin cork-oak woods, a steep inclined garden, and mature organic vegetable / Mediterranean / tropical / rose gardens. On our plot are 2 separate houses, the one we live in and the luxury villa that we normally rent out and this is where you would stay ! Each house has a salt-water pool but you would be brave to be swimming in them in March

Me, Joan (the missus) and our 16 year-old daughter Nancy live here year round. We are very relaxed people and will try to make your stay with us as enjoyable as possible and we are flexible about most things (except when it comes to our daughter !!!). We are on our second Help Exchange project and all the first volunteers had a good time - so they told us ! We also speak Spanish. We'd all go for some local days out so you can get a feel for all there is to offer here. We would love to share our skills and life experiences with you, if you wish. Joan is a qualified Naturapathic Nutritionist. This field of treatment attempts to cure any ills people have via the use of natural foods, diet and natural supplements. Me, Andy, I'm am improving Blues keyboard player and love jamming with anybody ! Nancy, well, she's a teenager ! But also fluent in Spanish and Catalan. See our reviews below !

The arrangements:
We'd provide all your food and expect you to take care of most of your meals. We'd cook ourselves some days and well all eat together. From our past experience we have to say that you must be happy with a fish and meat-eating diet as it's too difficult to cater for mixed eating habits. So, sorry, no vegetarians, or allergy intolerances or none-pork eaters ! Joan is a great cook and a nutritionist so you can be guaranteed good food.

We would expect you to work 6 hours daily from Monday to Friday, with flexibility on both sides as needed.

The volunteers would live together in the rental villa and this includes 4 large private bedrooms, all with an en-suite bathroom, fully equipped kitchen, a large living / dining room with basic English satellite TV and access to a full range of Spanish, Catalan, French and German channels, and an outside eating area with B-B-Q. If you are 25 or over you would be able to USE OUR SPARE CAR, a 1996 VW Golf convertible. I would be happy to drive you to and from the local towns on nights that no-one wanted to drive. You can see the the villa via our website link above (ignore the prices!). Smoking is not allowed inside the villa. There is a wifi connection and use of a lap top if needed.

The Work:
We need helpers for the last 2 weeks in March, 2012, March 17-31

Odd-jobs and small repairs
Working in the garden

We need all-round handy people.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use