Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 11437
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: july & august
Area (ha): 0,4 HA
Persons: 3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 11437
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 18, 2013

Hi helpers!

We are looking for 3 helpers for this summer holidays, july & fisrt part of august.

We are still working on our barn renovation and make all efforts possible to make it ready for living before next winter.

There are still a l-o-t of thing to do: wall building inside the house, electricity and water network, plant filtering of dirty waters.

You are motivated and have some (really) basic experience in renovation/building ? Or maybe you are confortable at house and child keeping ? Let us know, we'll really enjoy to meet and share time with you.

Thanks to all helpers that came and gave us a hand since the two past years: Matthew, Yago, Pablo, Tatiana, Hannah, Marina, Alex, Anna and others!

Here is a short and usual description of us
We are a 4 persons family, Anne-so, Loic, Maelle and Anna. We leave in the Pyrenees, one kilometer from FOIX, a city well known for its castle, touristic activities and good living.
We are renovation a barn who was an ancient farm house.
It's a big work since it hasn't been inhabited for decades, but the dirty part has already been done.
One of our main goals is using ecological or healthy products for both our future comfort and to minimize impacts on nature.
On the other hand, our field will be used both for cultivating and for receiving a natural water sanitation system called "filtres plante".

We don't expect from you having specific skills (even if they are welcome!), but your enthusiasm, sense of responsibility and desire to work and share together are important to us.

We'll try during that period to have an help from "local" friends, that will be one more chance for you to discover people and practice french if it matters to you.

We organize working time as follow: working on the morning, free time the afternoon, but this is pretty flexible in order to follow your expectations.

Many activities are available around us: Ariege is full of nice activities such as places to visit, cathar castles, trekking in the mountain, river sports.

Concerning accomodation, you will be hosted at our current house (1 kilometer from Foix) which has every comfort needed: good beds, fast internet connection, washing machine. There is one room which is reserved for the helpers (shared room).

Please note that we mostly eat local and organic food, but we are not vegetarian and will need an help ** from everyone ** for cooking and maintaining the house clean and comfortable as we consider this does not make part of the working time, it is a community responsibility.

We speak french (native), english and spanish (conversation level), and pieces of italian and Portuguese.
Hope to hear from you soon.
Anne-So and Loic

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use