Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 11516
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Andover, Hants
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4.5
Persons: 2 -3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 11516
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 2, 2013

Small double room available most of the time. Ideally a single man who is happy to so the heavier work around a new farm, such as fencing. I am recovering from a foot injury, and struggling to cope with the heavier work around the place!

I also have two ponies that are ready to be broken in, if there is an experienced rider out there looking for a place!

If you have mechanical interest there may be the chance to help with welding, painting etc. of bodywork or mechanical work on vintage military or agricultural vehicles. Experience not always necessary, but a love of very old vehicles IS! And be warned, this is much harder work than a modern car - all the parts are VERY heavy!

I have a non-organic smallholding of 10 acres, (about 15 miles from my house), with small ponies, poultry, geese, etc., plus a few new fruit trees, and willow for living structures, dried basketry and sculptures. I teach textile arts- spinning, weaving etc, and am happy to teach this and English to helpers.
Help required is within the house and garden and on the smallholding - painting or treating small chicken sheds being a priority. 25 hours a week in return for room and keep, worked at times to suit us both so helper/s can have full days clear. Situated in Southern England, close to Stonehenge, an hour from coast, London and other historic sites. Rural, but 5 minute walk to train station.
Helpers can be accepted all through the year, often at very short notice.
Wireless internet and limited use of computer. TV in room. Note that home is NOT a large farmhouse, its a small bungalow! The smallholding is being built up from nothing with very little money so please be aware that it is not an established farm! Also, as mentioned I am recovering from a foot injury and have been unable to do much for the past 2 months. Small-holding, house and garden have all been neglected during that time, so be aware that everywhere is in something of a mess... Sorry - but at least you've been warned!

I'm happy to show helpers around, take them out fairly locally and have no problem helping them if their English is virtually non-existent. I regard helpers as just that - helpers, not workers. I have no intention (or time!) to stand over people while they work, or watch the clock. I enjoy the company of people who enter my life for a short time and hope that - for a few days or weeks at least - we become friends.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use