Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 11519
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 55
Persons: 2 +
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 11519
Country: Scotland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 23, 2011

We breed & raise rare breed pigs and also keep a few chickens on part of my semi-redundant family farm. The rest of the 130 acres of land is planted in forrest with paths and bridleways through the trees.
We are hoping to establish an orchard and kitchen garden / polytunnel area as well as doing some hedging planting, fencing, creating wildlife 'pockets' of land, traditional building and dry stone dyking work and repair, building yurts/roundhouses or something similar in the forrest areas we have. The farm has been neglected over the last 20 years or so and we are trying to get it back to being a tidy, working farm. We always have things to do with the pigs which is great fun and should prove informative for anyone wanting to learn about keeping pigs themselves.
Although not certified organic, we try to live in an eco-friendly, low impact way and re-use and recycle wherever possible.
We have the time, materials and experience to pass on these skills - but lack the people power to put the ideas and plans into action !
In return for your help (for no more than 6 hours per day and no more than 5 days from 7) we would be able to offer:
Comfortable accomodation, private room with double bed within family home. (or you are welcome to bring your tent, caravan or motorhome if you prefer)
Wi-fi connection or internet access if you don't have a laptop.
Plenty of opportunities and land for walking or horse riding and nature watching in the local area.
You are welcome to bring your dog which can stay in the house (as long as they get on with our dog & cats) or in a kennel outside. We do even have space if you wanted to bring a horse along - and lots of chances for riding both off and on-road.
Reiki healing sessions and peacefull places for meditation.
The area has lots to see and do - we are less than 60 minutes from both Glasgow & Edinburgh.

The type of work will range from working with the animals, building repair & maintenance, fencing, clearing areas of the farm, planting (trees, hedging & hopefully vegetables)gardening & landscaping work and just being an extra pair of hands around the farm - we would never ask you to do something we couldn't or wouldn't do ourselves.

You must like kids (we have 4 !) dogs and cats. We are 3 miles from the nearest shop and 2 miles from the nearest bus route, although we do have a car so could arrange transport if you didn't have your own.

Please get in touch if you would like any more information or have any questions.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use