Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 11592
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Valencia Alcntara
All Year: April - September
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 11592
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 7, 2017

We live in a little paradise: a small river, 2 stone stages for performers outside,a hill with beautiful sunset sights, Nilo's rock castle, many wild birds flying around, about 60 olive trees and a little organic garden and medicinal plants.

AnaH is a yoga teacher,bach flower practitioner, masaje terapist and a singer/dancer. So you can share your presence with her regular practice and meditations (normally I practice alone, but you can ask if you want to practice together or atend a class).
Josue is a photographer, master in making mojitos, rebuilder, an eco builder and a great cook. We have Nilo with 15 and Samu with 10 and baby Agata Rosa with 3 year.

There is plenty of space to put a tent, we have a studio and we are starting to build a tiny-house.

We need help with sustainable building with natural materials, amongst other things.

Before the baby we made our own bread, soya/grain milk, jams, cakes and pies, nut butters, home made detergents,etc.Now we still do many things but not so frequently like before..

We don't use drugs (nor abuse alcohol) and we give preference to vegetarians or people whom at least know the ingredients in a vegetarian cuisine.

Until now we had a limit staying time for helpers, which is between 1 week and 10 days. This is because the helpers need our attention but our children too, so it becomes very tiresome, specially for Ana to deal with both situations for more than 10 days...nevertheless, this year is the first time where we improvised a kitchen outside, so the helpers don't need to sleep or eat inside our house ... we expect this time to be easier to deal with both experiences - child care, cooking and co-working with the helpers. This means we would like to open our farm for a staying time limit which could go from 15 days to one or more depends of each particular circumstance, like if you have a caravan with kitchen, or we have a really good empathy, or you are a very skilled helper, a good, fast and hard worker, etc...

We expect people to work about 5 hours/day, rest on sundays, which depends on the staying time. The rest of the day free for you to walk or bike, or join us in our social rural life. But we expect you to go alone where you want to visit.

There is much to do nearby, just by walking or biking :
Go fishing with Nilo at a beautiful Alcorneo lake, visiting the vultures nesting hills, have a nice walk or cycle though neolithic ancient stones and ignored matriarcal cultural vestiges, jump with Samuel on the trampoline or just to balance on the net and look at the birds on the pine tree while reading an inspiring book..

About the farm,
in the first days we show you the place and where the tools are and what are the priorities, so we can organize the work and free time (we asume we are dealing with responsible and healthy people..). But every day is different here, so we need some flexibility too and capacity to work alone.

About the meals,
you can prepare and eat alone your own breakfast, snack and dinner at the time when you feel hungry, so you don't need to wait for us - parenting takes us time - normally we eat a light meal for dinner or recycle lunch leftovers.

About lunch time,
normally we share the cooking and eat on a picnic style or the table outside. Beware the cats !

We are very sociable and enjoy sharing different visions from different cultures.

About dishwashing,
Each one is responsible for their own dishes and we make turns in who cooks and who makes dish washing, so the work can be fun. ;)

We adore dishwashing together , speccially with the children..they make turns of 10 min. each helping out, but need to ask them or else they forget...

About the diet,
at home we have a macrobiotic and mediterranean diet, even though we like to use the blood type diet combined with the food combining one... this means we are flexible with all sorts of diets, but we use reduced amounts of animal protein and eat flowers, wild herbs, sea weeds and seeds on a regular basis.
If you wish to try any of these recipes we do, please let us know before, so we can organise a special day in the kitchen for teaching everything you want to know. Definetely not at meal time cooking, because it would be too dispersing energy. We enjoy silence - kids make already enough noise...

What you need to bring:
Please come prepared with enough clothing/warm sleeping bag for the night, good shoes to farm or build or track, sunscreen and bathing clothes.

There is a big swimming pool nearby on the Portuguese border.There are lots of places to go for a ride, like the vultures hills, a 10 min. away from our house, or small villages to visit or the dolmen sites. We can lend our bikes , even though they might need some care before... We have many friends around, with horses, animals, fantastic sightseeing places, cool places to come for a drink, so it is also an opportunity to visit other peoples farms and know the life style we have here. We love it !

Our project is about rebuilding new foundations on many levels: physical, emotional, psychological, spiritual. It is hard and challenging, not for anyone, not for imature people under emotional turmoil...we need focus, emphathy and inner stillness here, as a personal commitment to oneself, as the chalenges are many.

But, if you are the kind of person truly wanting to change the world you live in, we are your family, because we, as a family of five, live that reality every day since almost 15 years. And it's not easy...but not impossible ;-) !!!

We have tourism office leaflets from the towns around us to visit, both in Spain and Portugal and until now people just loved our cooking !

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use