Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 11595
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha): 20
Persons: One or two
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 11595
Region: Ontario

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 24, 2015

If you are interested in participating in small scale organic farming and humane animal care you will enjoy our farm.
We do rotational pasturing with our flock of East Friesien and Navajo Churro sheep. This means we move our Electronet fence every few days as the flock goes to new grass. We also move our little henhouse and the runs for our laying hens and we raise meat birds on a modified pasture system. We attend a local market every Friday and Saturday and are members of a local food co-op. You may participate in ongoing tasks such as gathering, washing and packing eggs ( two dozen daily) attending the market, sorting orders for the co-op, feeding the Tamworth piggies, moving the chicken shelters and replenishing feed and water. In short, we have a variety of classic farm jobs, interspersed with swimming in nearby Lake Dore, hiking or exploring the old growth Shaw Woods just down the road or just reading a book under a shady tree. We also manage a guesthouse in a nearby village and we may occasionally ask you to help us with some cleaning or yard work there. (lawn mowing, flowerbed) or painting.
We prefer mature couples or friends so that you have some
company for your free time and as a work partner. We all help with cooking and meal prep and with keeping the house somewhat tidy. We especially enjoy your input if you have ethnic culinary specialties!
No drug use, we enjoy a glass of wine with dinner, if you
smoke, it will be outside.
We have wi-fi and comfortable private bedrooms in a very large comfortable old farmhouse. Our work day is from about 8 am to 1 pm with a break for you in the afternoon until time for evening chores and supper preparation at five. After dinner, you are free for the evening. We take Sunday off except for feeding animals. We are not in a remote location, but in a quiet rural farming area with great roads for biking or walking.
We are in our early sixties, have three cats and a dog, are non
smokers, avid readers, and have spent part of our recent years in Europe during our Canadian winter. We've recently retired from owning a cafe, inn and art gallery and are enjoying the
peace and quiet of farm life . Our farm is about an hour
west of Ottawa and we are reachable by Greyhound bus from various locales or can arrange transportation from
the airport or train station.
We look forward to hearing from interested helpers. We prefer helpers who can stay for at least a couple of weeks. We
speak some Dutch and german, a bit of French and a few words of Spanish and enjoy the challenges of hosting
people from other cultures.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use