Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 11598
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: end of March to October
Area (ha): 0.6
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 11598
Country: Germany

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 17, 2018

We are an English couple who now live in Germany along with a few sheep, hens, ducks, quail, rabbits, cats and Perdy the Dalmatian dog. We have a big veg patch ,lots of fruit trees etc.

We are in an undiscovered part of Germany east of Dresden. The village of Cunewalde is said to be the most beautiful valley in Saxony. Lots of walking/cycling through forest trails and open fields. Bautzen (a wonderful medieval town) is a 20 min bus-ride away. Berlin 2 and a half hours by car and Prague a little closer.

As well as general help with the garden, fruit trees and animals I am looking for people next year to help make some gates. If you fancy some major work the barn needs LOTS of work too.

Our work routine starts at 7.30 and we work until 10.30. We stop for breakfast then and afterwards (depending on weather and what we are working on) we continue work, go out for a trip, or just have free time. The evening routine starts again at 4.00 with the round of animal tasks and garden care. The evening meal is at about 6.00. We usually only have 2 meals a day but do stop for tea and cake breaks and there is always home-made jam and bread available.

The area offers many walking routes, along a cycle path, through farmland or forest. There is a bus to Bautzen or Loebau BUT there is NO nightlife. We can offer hundreds of books, a huge range of DVD`s or even jigsaws.

Having people to stay is great. We are used to a big family (all back in the UK) We also had language exchange students for many years.
WARNING I do NOT want to have to constantly chase my HELPERS, I need them to be willing to do the four or five hours of work that I ask of you unsupervised as I have a part-time teaching job. (Peter is at home if you need to check on anything, and to do the cooking!)

The pictures show 1, The house from the yard (with the visiting grandchildren). 2, A view from the cycle track showing our sheep and the broken barn. 3,The extensive veg patch. 4, A previous project the duck pond. 5, Purdy on one of the forest trails. 6, Bautzen.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use