Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 11748
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Near Vire
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.7
Persons: 1 - 4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 11748
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 29, 2013

We are no longer accepting volunteers for 2013.

We believe that life is about adventures and so after one too many episodes of Grand Designs and a glass of wine or two we moved to France in 2008 to live in a caravan and renovate a cottage. These days we live in the cottage and are expanding our horizons by learning to grow and rear our own food and manage our 7 acres.

We are a British couple (40 and 45) and share our life with Rufus the Alaskan Malamute, Oscar the cat and a menagerie of chickens, ducks,rabbits and pigs.

You can get involved with the animals (please note that we rear our poultry, rabbits and pigs for the table) and a load of other jobs ranging from general land management such as strimming, mowing and logging, gardening and helping with the veggie patch and some interesting projects like building a bridge across the stream. This year the focus is on the garden, creating a new veggie patch and a permanent eating area for the clay oven that we built last summer.

We'd like to teach you something new if possible, learn something from you and make the most of any skills that you bring with you so we're generally happy to be flexible about what you do with us although some jobs need to be done all year and some are seasonal.

You will stay in one of two comfy rooms in our home. We provide three good meals (homegrown where possible) a day. We are not able to cater for specific dietary requirements - sorry. Help with cooking and other household jobs is expected over and above your working hours.
We offer use of mountain bikes, phone calls to most countries, English and French TV, WIFI and a hot tub on the patio that you can jump into at the end of a hard day's labour.

We live on the edge of a small village where there is a bar/restaurant, boulangerie and hairdressers (if you're feeling brave with your language skills). Importantly, there is a wine shop in walking distance.

Within an hour's travelling distance are Mont St Michel and the D Day Beaches and we generally try to take our helpers on a day out or two if you don't have transport. Our local town is Vire and we are happy to pick you up from the station there. Locally there is beautiful countryside, lakes and forests to explore.

We are not isolated but we are in a quiet and rural position so if you are looking to party at night then this is not the place for you. If you fancy spending the evening sharing experiences and ideas around the firepit, watching the bats and owls with a glass of something nice (there's a theme emerging here isn't there?), taking us on at Scrabble or watching an occasional movie then this might well be a good place for you to come.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use