Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 11760
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1500
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 11760
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 20, 2015

UPDATE 20/09/15 We are currently looking to host a single person or couple from OCTOBER 08 or there abouts, for a minimum of 4 weeks. Details will be given on enquiry. We have lots of baby calves on the ground and our old horse Aztec would love some company and a bit of TLC (tender loving care).

ABOUT US We are Darrell and Jo, a middle-aged couple with a large family (who don't all live at home). We run a developing brahman breeder property with a base herd of 60 breeders. We are part of a wonderful small community that has lots of fun things to do on weekends. We love to share our family life and our farm projects, although challenging at times, give us a lot of pleasure.
JO: I am a teacher of Students with a Disability and I travel to my school 50 minutes away everyday. I run the animal side of our farm and I am passionate about learning to live a more sustainable lifestyle. I love to cook and feed everybody well.
DARRELL: I am a key element in my family's timber business where I co-manage the re-established community sawmill. I run the infrastructure sIde of our properties. I have many skills and am really happy to teach others as long as they are genuine and willing to work hard. I also really like to show people about where we live. There is nothing better than sitting round a table with family and friends, good food and the occasional beer. You may even get to help cook a "mean" steak on the barbie.

OUR PLACE: Our property is about six hours from Brisbane & about an hour and a half from the beautiful Central Queensland beaches. We have two parts to our property and they are about 7 km apart. Our main home is a lovely, old Queenslander with plenty of room. You would have your own comfy room (one double or 1 single) and share the living with us. The farmhouse is a bungalow style that is in need of some TLC (tender loving care). It is getting ready to be lived in and hopefully we willl find the right people to help us with that.
We are developing an organic garden and at the farm we have chickens to supply us with some produce.

HOW YOU CAN HELP: You will learn (if you don't already know) to build new and maintain fences at both properties and cattle yard build. You may get to help with house cleaning and renovations, gardening, feeding & caring for the working dogs. We are looking for skilled people to help keep our horses fit and there is some training to do as Jo is unable to do this herself right now. If you have natural horsemanship background it will be an advantage not necessary. Carpentry skills are also an advantage.

THINGS YOU NEED TO KNOW An international license is great but not essential. We are meat eaters but cater for all diets where possible, just so you know, we live a long way from the shops. We don't mind smokers but outside please and not when working. We mostly need honesty and commitment. The skills required to start are minimal as long as you are willing to learn quickly and see the projects through to the finish. There is NO mobile service here. We provide access to satellite WIFI and landline telephone. There is access to a TV with a DVD player. The scenery is great here so make sure you have lots of photo space in your phone or heaps of SD cards..

LENGTH OF STAY: 4 weeks minimum and longer especially if you like it here. 4 to 6 h per day is do-able but farm work doesn't work that way and we do ensure you get a bit of fun time. To allay any confusion, as of September 01, 2015, we are no longer able to sign off on 2nd year visas. We are very sorry we cannot help you with this but the minimum pay requirement would be way out of most small farmers' ability.

SO FAR: To date we are very grateful for all the helpers we have had over the past three years and we are really looking forward to sharing our passions and culture with more travellers. The lifestyle is a bit rough at times and conveniences simple but there is beautiful scenic surrounds with lots of water and green grass at the moment. We are always looking for areas to explore in our lovely piece of heaven and we would love to share these times with our guests.

REVIEW FROM SWEDISH GUESTS, Kim & Lukas January to end of March, 2015.
"Our stay at Darrell and Jo's farm has been wonderful. Making us feel like a part of their family they have always treated us well, kept us fed (which means a lot of food) and given us good jobs to do. We've learnt about fencing, digging holes, gardening and a lot of other things. There are so many different jobs to do on this farm. I (Kim) got to bake and cook, which I love. It's been a great stay and we are really sad to leave our home in Australia."

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use