Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 11845
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: depends on projects
Area (ha): 1.2
Persons: max 3
Category: Other
Host ID: 11845
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 24, 2011

Great learning opportunity for sustainable alternative building!

We are a family of three that bought our lovely quinta in Portugal a couple of years ago, and we have finally made the move to stay there.
The quinta has lots of fruit and olive trees and is situated less than 100 meters away from the river Alva. The nearest village is a 2.5 km beautifull walk by the river.

We are experienced hosts; our project has been fully booked early spring this year until we took a three week break middle June. We are recieving new helpers from middle of July (2011).

The work you will participate in will be:

- Earthbagging (We are building a halfmoon shaped, earth-bermed, earthbag (tube)house) The work on the house will also include, depending on when you are coming, a living roof, cob, liming, glass bottle wall and much more.
We also have an earthbag toilet to finish, but we are not sure that it will be this year.

- Lime rendering and pointing (we are making a small old granite goat shed into a beautifull relaxation room, we also have retaining walls that need lime rendering). The goat shed is half way done now. It needs finishing lime render coat and a cob floor.

- Clearing land will be part of the weekly work

- babysitting: We would like helpers that want to take care of Una (1 years) a coupple of hours once in a while (off cause included in the work time)

You will experience the life on a quinta in progress. Right now we are camping, and there are nice spots for your tent. We have plenty of fresh drinking water. Outdoor shower and kitchen are also in place. We have a tiny bit of garden, but our focus is to get a roof over our heads.

You will be working on wwoofing conditions (6 hours a day 6 days a week, food included please tell us if you have any serious allergies, special diets etc.)

We are looking for both short and longer term wwoofers, but a minimum of a two weeks stay is prefered since it takes a little while to learn technices etc.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use