Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 11917
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Chilliwack
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 14
Persons: 3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 11917
Region: BC, South Western

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 18, 2019

Last minute help needed! Some pay is possible especially for a person with carpentry or plumbing experience.
We raise a lot of different animals (Horses, Cows, Goats, Pigs, Peacocks, Red GoldenPheasants, Guinea Fowl, Chickens, Mandarin Ducks, plus 3 very friendly Maremma Livestock Guardian dogs that keep the predators away (1 is a puppy-in-training). In the house we have 2 parrots and 2 friendly cats! We also have a good-sized garden, some fruit trees, berries and grapes.
We also run a Bed & Breakfast and have cabin rentals, plus have camping and do weddings. There is a lot going on!

There are a lot more pics and information about our place on our website (see above).

Sorry, we do not take couples or children.

We have tried to be as detailed as possible, so you have a clear idea of who we are.

*** PLEASE READ OUR AD CAREFULLY, AS WE DON`T WANT YOU TO BE UNHAPPY HERE AS IT MAKES US UNHAPPY AS WELL. Life is too short for anyone to be stressed out! The only people that have been unhappy here are ones that have ignored what our requests are for a helper as they wanted to come anyway. Keep in mind, most helpers don't have ANY references, so we have to rely on your word that you fit our requirements!

Anyone coming must have realistic expectations of farm life! Unlike many farms we hear about, we don't put pressure on to do extra hours, but we do sometimes offer pay for extra hours if someone wants to & we need the extra help. I am happy to help you with your English and teach you about gardening or cooking and share my recipes with you as well.

All our animals are kept outside except for the parrots and our 2 very friendly cats. One of the parrots keeps everybody laughing with her comments and does an amazing array of tricks, animal imitations, laughing and also sings.

The farm is 33.6 acres (14 hectares) sitting at the base of a mountain, surrounded by a huge forest on 3 sides (the smell of the oxygen is great!) and we have 1300` (396 m) of river frontage with our own beach (you can swim in late summer and fall). There is also a couple of large ponds and some creeks. There are miles of logging roads and trails through the forest if you love hiking. We are in a very popular recreational area for the local people for camping, hiking, dirt biking, mountain biking, ATVíing (with quads and 4 x 4s), whitewater kayaking, rafting and itís got world class fishing off our beach! There is a popular 5 1/2 hour (return) hike to the mountain we are on, that offers spectacular views of Chilliwack as well as the surrounding mountains, but you would need footwear suitable for snow if you go up there. We have mountain bikes available for your use, and if you are an experienced horseback rider (and you're kind with them and can saddle them up) you are welcome to ride. If you have sufficient experience, you can take them off the property and onto the trails. The horses are generally quiet and gentle, mostly green broke (but fairly safe). You may have the opportunity for a horse and buggy ride.
Our water comes from our own little spring-fed mountain waterfall. We have a little vineyard, some berries, and fruit trees and have a good-sized garden and are planting more of everything.

We grow our garden organically and also try not to use chemicals, hormones or antibiotics wherever possible with our livestock or poultry.
Lunches and dinners are usually prepared for you, and we provide good-sized portions. We like healthy good-tasting food, and make some of our foods from scratch, (homemade bread, jams, pesto, apple cider vinegar, etc), however, because of cost the foods we buy are often not organic. The food we produce for ourselves is organic. We do not supply junk foods, juice or soda. When we are really busy, lunches and dinners are often later, but there is always fruit etc. available.

We have 3 rustic fishermen's cabins deep in the forest by a pond, that you are welcome to use when they are vacant and you clean them after - they are very popular!

For both us, our hobbies include; dancing (country and western, latin, swing and ballroom), vintage cars (we have a few), cooking (and eating!), and enjoy having pot luck barbecues here during the summer and fall, and we love farming! Debbi also loves humour, computers, traveling, shopping, and playing cards.

PLEASE READ BELOW CAREFULLY!!!

If your parents did everything for you, you are probably not suitable for us! (NO princes or princesses PLEASE!)

We prefer that you are at least 20 (and older is preferred).

As there is A LOT to be done, you must be someone that can work independently with good work ethic, is MOTIVATED, reliable, efficient and a self-starter. If you are too engrossed in heavy conversation during working hours, mistakes tend to get made. You are welcome to talk at length after you are done, and we'd love to get to know you as well! You are also welcome to play as long as you wish with the animals, AFTER you are finished!
We can only take a few people so those we take must be serious about helping.

***If you tend to do things at a relaxed speed, a busy farm is probably not the place for you!

We prefer stays of *AT LEAST* 3 weeks, unless you are quite experienced already.

Most of the horses are turned out to pasture all summer and fall, so we don't have too much to do with them in those seasons.

We are doing fencing and building a barn, planting some trees, splitting & moving wood, clearing out underbrush and of course animal care (more in the winter and spring). We are hoping to put a turbine on our waterfall to generate some of our own power as well. There are vehicles and machinery (including our classic cars that need some work if you have the skills). We would certainly welcome anyone with bio-dynamic and permaculture knowledge. If you are experienced with Mac computers, that would be a bonus!

The type of help we need:

General labour, animal help, collecting and chopping firewood, seeding, clearing brush, helping with fencing, building, clean-up etc.

Some light housekeeping (for the house and our 3 cabins in the forest) and gardening.

Helping Debbi with the cooking, as well as with looking after the outside birds, as well as the cats, and parrots.

Feeding and cleaning stalls and paddocks for all the animals and keeping an eye out for changes in them. You MUST care about animals, be physically STRONG, EFFICIENT and OBSERVANT for this job! You must be able to handle heavy wheelbarrows easily as well.

Mechanical help. Obviously you must have some previous training.

There is a beautiful, large bedroom in the house with an ensuite bathroom and also a big artist's loft. The bedroom is used in the winter as the loft is not insulated well. They are often shared if there are many helpers and can be mixed as well. The artist's loft has individual nooks with a light in each and a heavy curtain for privacy. We provide laundry, high speed internet, some DVD`s and books, a pool table, foosball table, Nintendo 64 (with all the best games I'm told!), bicycles, karaoke, badminton, volleyball, a trampoline, a guitar, water guns, games and of course horses! If you can play, you are welcome to play our baby grand piano.
You are expected to keep your room and bathroom tidy, cleaning up after yourselves and being respectful of our things also.

We are located in Chilliwack, B.C., and it's about 1 1/2 hours drive from downtown Vancouver or the nearest ski mountain (Grouse Mountain), (or 3 hours to Whistler).
We are 20 minutes by car or 40 minute bike ride to town, 3 kms is down a forest road. There are opportunities to get a ride with us when we go into town.
We will pick you up when you arrive and drop you off when you leave. Due to the nature of our farm, sometimes you may have to wait at the bus station for a bit, but there is a Tim Hortons coffee place with free Wifi there and there are many stores around.

You must be (as we are) honest, dependable, reasonably clean and mentally stable, no (unmedicated) bipolar or anger management issues please! and NO DRUGS, HEAVY DRINKERS OR SMOKERS (inside or outside)!!!

A great sense of humour is a definite asset! We are quiet, considerate, reasonable and very respectful of others privacy and hopefully you are as well!

We have included a picture of ourselves in our profile (a picture speaks a thousand words they say!) and it tells us a lot about you! If you wish to reply, PLEASE include one of you as well.
We don't care if you have dreadlocks, but if you don't wash your hair AT LEAST once a week (with shampoo) it ruins our bedding! (Yes, it already happened)

Please let us know in advance if you have any dietary restrictions! ***THIS IS NOT A PLACE FOR VEGETARIANS OR PICKY EATERS! We don't eat a lot of meat, but definitely have it several times a week. We are cooking for several people and it gets difficult when people are giving us their lists of foods they don't like!
I shop in the U.S. often, so there are opportunities to go there as well, if desired.

WE WANT ONLY PEOPLE THAT HAVE HIGH INTEGRITY & ARE RELIABLE! It makes it really difficult for us when we receive cancellations last minute. It is also not fair to the people we turn away who could have come and enjoyed the experience. We take this seriously and we try hard to make the experience good for our visitors.† We know that many people are applying for jobs, which is fine, but we ask that you give us 2 weeks notice, so that we have a chance to replace you.
We know we can't make everybody happy, but we expect that if you are unhappy here, that you talk to us so we can try together to resolve any issues. We have many different jobs so if you were having difficulty with one, we can often give you a different one.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use