help exchange   Host 1193
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes (long stay preferred)
Area (ha): 10ha
Persons: 1 - 2 (+ kids poss)
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 1193
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 12, 2010

Looking for long-term arrangement, starting this Spring. English couple (mid 40s) with a bilingual 7 yr old son. Our smallholding is in Brittany, just south of Mont St Michel and only 35 mins from St Malo ferry port. Its an old farm - we have pigs, sheep, poultry and rabbits. All of our animals are kept for food for our own consumption and we grow a lot of our own veg - with a large stone raised bed garden in progress to complete our veggie requirements!

We need help around the land mostly - upkeeping fencing, fighting back the brambles, and planting trees and maintenance of the woods, coppicing etc.

We are also renovating various parts of the property using traditional and eco-friendly building techniques and will always need a hand with that. One of us is an experienced stonemason, specialising in restoration of old buildings (churches, manors etc) using traditional materials - he can teach you all you need to know about stone and its uses (building, carving) and also the traditional use of lime (pointing, rendering, frescos etc etc), clay floors etc.

We plan to create a composting toilet outside and are hoping to thatch a small building.

We are keen to learn from other people's skills and pass on our own. Someone with good carpentry skills would never be idle here!

We offer basic caravan accommodation and all food, a lot of it from the farm. Food is a big part of our lives and we cook a good hearty meals every night, with lashings of wine! We have a big old breadoven building on the farm which we use to make pizzas and bread and also cook large roasts in and have a bit of a party in there when the mood takes us!

We are relatively private insular people who don't stray far from home and home is our haven so we need to find the "right" people. This is a very rural area and there is not a lot going on. You must be prepared to register yourself for basic health cover here in France if you want to stay for a decent amount of time.

If this sounds interesting to you please feel free to email us and we can discuss the ins and outs further.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use