Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 11955
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 14
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 11955
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 19, 2016

Our 35 acre property, is nestled amongst the farming community of Stowport, Northwest Coast of Tasmania. We have 10 acres of beautiful rhododendrons, camelias, azaleas and a large variety of exotic conifers. The other 25 acres is natural rainforest bush with a dam. We have 7 Indian runner ducks and 4 geese on the dam. We have a resident platypus, wallabies, Tasmanian Devils, possums and bandicoots.Our platypus has not been seen for some time. The Tasmanian Devils are not seen as they are very shy animals, but we know they are around. If weather permits we like to take helpers on a night walk by torch light around the property when wallabies, possums and occasionally bandicoots can be seen.

Work may include, weeding, pruning, planting, raking and assisting with wood splitting (more wood stacking than splitting). There would also be some physical work assisting Wayne around the property. Hours of work would be approximately 5-6 hours per day with a total of 30 hours per week.

Helpers would be accommodated in their own bedroom and with their own bathroom. We encourage helpers to be a part of the family and to join us at night either chatting or watching TV or videos in our lounge. Meals are varied and would be taken as part of our family. Helpers would be encouraged to help with any cooking and possibly sharing their recipes from their own country.

We have two very lovable and playful Labradoodle dogs on the property, so you must love dogs!

The city of Burnie is only 10 minutes drive from our home and there is an authentic farmers market there. In the summer months we take our helpers to see the fairy penguins on the beachfront. You may be lucky to see a wallaby or two at Fern Glade Reserve which is a 5 minute drive from our home. You may also be lucky to see a platypus at the Reserve.

It is also a requirement before applying for a position on our property that you are able to converse at a reasonable level in English.

We do not provide Internet access so helpers will be required to have their own facilities.


Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use