Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 11970
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 50
Persons: 1
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 11970
Region: Quebec

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 31, 2016

September 2016 UPDATE

After a few years non hosting, we were busy making kids :)... 6 in 7 years, The house is now full, and we are making it bigger. We are looking for someone to help with home improvement, spend the day with Nicolas constructing the new house. We had great experience in the past with guys travelling alone. Let us know if you are interested
A bientot.

September 29th 2012

Hi, we are a young family (3 young children of 1,3 and 4), 4th coming in nov 2012) starting a small farm (125 acres, 1 dog, 2 cats, 9 cows, half a bull, 8 baby cows, 22 chickens, 1 rooster, 8 turkeys, 2 goats and 9 sheeps

After a life start in the city (engineering, management consulting, MBA), we decided to leave it all for the coutryside.

We speak french at home and our region is mainly french speaking. We also have a good knowledge of English and Spanish (and a base of Mandarin, not sure it can be useful, but who knows?) having both lived ourselves long periods abroad in Europe, South America and Asia. We also traveled around the world for 2 years before having kids...we now are a bit more settled but enjoy seeing the world through our visitors.

We started hosting last summer and enjoyed a lot our experiences so far. We did A LOT in the last few months with the help of Antoine, Mathilde, Fabien (3 times :)), Guillaume, Evelyn, Adrien, Nina, Annika, Christophe (4 times! :)), Lucile, Paul, Charlene, Mathieu, Marthe, Rosalie, Maxence, Frederica! thanks you!

After a busy summer, we need to get the cows in the barn for the first time! There is still a lot of work to do...building a separation wall, setting up plumbing, electricity, isolation, ligthing, ventilation etc. We sould do this between october and november.

We would like to get one more helper this year to finish this project. Then we would host I think only next summer.

We are looking for an independant person that love children, is ok spending his nights on his own (we have a large room and internet for you...Audrey and I work at nigth),and doesnt mind getting drown in kid shouts at dinner. The ideal stay would be 2 to 6 weeks.

If you feel you might be interested, contact us, we could chat more about our projects and see how you could fit in it and also what you could take away from the experience.


Nicolas and Audrey

Old stuff that I leave here anyway:
Past updates:
We are looking ideally for short term help (1 week to 1 month, but open for more) to do one of the following projects, depending on your taste and that moment priority, no experience required (we would work on and off together):

-Finishing the transformation of an old milk house into a hen house, with outside fencing, inside play structure, rooster perch, nesting boxes etc. (Half was built by 3 helpex August..this should be done early summer. DONE!

-Build an enclosure to host our first sheeps (spring) DONE!

-Wood harvesting (for as long as you want). We have a couple of hectares that are marked to harvest and are ready to be worked in. (we started with Christophe in is hard work, but rewarding! we will see where we are at this summer) GOOD FOR NOW

-Next winter, we want to get our cows in the barn (they are currently taken care of by a friend for the winter). So we need to do some carpentry, plumbing in the barn to get ready for them...HUMMM STILL A LOT TO DO

-Work on planting our veggies garden (may-june)and maintaining it....july-sep) DONE

-We want to build a couple of structures this summer, a wood shed and maybe a machinery hangar. Depending on the timing of the help, we will plan and launch this project. (NEXT YEAR!)

-We are also looking for help having fun with the kids or house chores if you would like to contribute this way. We would love for the kids (3 months old, 1.5 yrs and 3yrs) to be exposed to other languages.

-Many other projects on our project board for you to choose on :)

Dec2011: Over the past 4months, 6 helpex came and help on the farm for a total of 22 man-weeks. A lot was done, our 100 chickens are now in a top class hen house (re-update....are now in the freezer :) ), we had an excavator for a week and did many excavating tasks. The garden will be closed soon (some pumpkins are left!)

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use