Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 12104
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Hardanges
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.5
Persons: 1
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 12104
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 3, 2018

We need a helper anytime soon for The rest of September.
Work outside will change depending on weather although we always need people with craft /DIY skills in exchange for warming food and a loan of warm clothes if needed.
There will be watering and care of those plants still in the polytunnel and care of chickens and the few sheep.
In the long term we really want people who are keen to learn about gardening organically and don't mind getting their hands dirty.
The garden work will be weeding flower and veg beds. We have to turn this seasons soft fruits into jams and preserves.
Adaptability and common sense are invaluable working in oursituation.
We usually speak English in the house so it could be useful for those who wish to improve their English as well as their French.
Some Helpx have completed or started studies while here. Some have painted or explored the walkways.
When it is not possible to work on the land we have many inside jobs in the barn. Woodwork, plastering, plumbing, painting, minor electrical work. clearing, cleaning and sorting stuff that has been left as we prioritize urgent work. We have a lot of DIY work.
There are always individual garden projects. Previous helpers tamed a bamboo jungle,cleared an overgrown bog and built pathways. Others learnt to bottle fruit and make jams,pickles and chutneys.
We always have work with the animals. Feeding, looking after and cleaning out the chickens, sheep and lambs.
Normally helpers are in the main house. Their room has its own bathroom and facilities for personal tea/coffee making.
The potager/veg garden, both of the 2 lakes are in a naturally beautiful setting, there is carp fishing in the lakes, there is also a bog garden, some woodland and an orchard.
We offer good food, peace and quiet, self contained accommodation.
You can join in the Monday art class and practice your French at the same time.
We have good relationships with our French neighbors who have welcomed our helpers into their homes and community during their stay with us. A local French prof. has French classes here which you could join.
I should add that age is catching up with us and what we need is an input of energy and people with bendier knees.
We ask that you don't smoke in the house.
Games players are welcome, cards, chess, etc. We have a couple of bikes which helpers are free to use, if you have a helmet we advise that you bring it for your own safety.
There are very active walking groups in our area which you would be welcome to join.
There are no large towns close by but several small and charming villages.
We look forward to hosting you.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use