Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 12266
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Baffle Creek
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 17
Persons: Couples, 1-2 women
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 12266
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 22, 2018

We are a small hobby farm in a quiet bush setting between Bundaberg and Agnes Water. We moved here from Melbourne 11 years ago in search of a rural lifestyle and warmer weather. Everything here was built by us and it has kept us very busy. We occasionally raise pigs for meat and have had chickens, ducks and geese in the past.

There`s 2 of us plus Max, our Maremma sheepdog. We both have a background in construction and have travelled extensively throughout Australia. We have a lot of hobbies and interests including cooking, gardening, furniture making, house construction, STEM and plenty more.

We are looking for couples or one to two women to help with outdoor work such as improving the gardens, construction, general property maintenance and animal care. Some household chores may be required too. We are also interested in a cultural exchange and want helpers who are keen to socialise a bit during their time off.

Short stays of up to 2 weeks are preferred. Helpers can expect to do up to 4 hours supervised work each morning, six days a week and have Sunday`s off. We provide 3 good meals per day (We cannot cater to fussy eaters. We sometimes raise pigs and have meat with most meals so vegetarians will find it difficult!). Ideally helpers will have their own transport but we can pick people up from Miriam Vale, Agnes Water or the 1770 Turn Off (for Premier buses).

Accommodation is a cabin with a double bed and two single beds, your own shower and toilet and shared laundry facilities. The cabin has a television with access to a large video library and wi-fi with data limited internet access (~1GB/Day). We have large dams suitable for swimming and can take people to the beaches and river. Bicycles and kayaks are also available for use.

Unfortunately, we cannot help with second year visa`s.

Please make first contact through the HelpX site. We will always reply to genuine contacts and can usually do so within a few hours. In your message, please say which date you are thinking of arriving and how long you are planning to stay, where you are now and whether you have your own transport or need to be picked up. Ideally your profile should already include a description of yourself, your interests, skills, any work experience and a photo.

- Cannot help with second year visa`s.
- Short stays of up to 2 weeks preferred.
- Couples or two women preferred.
- Up to 4 hours work each morning. Sunday`s off.
- Food and accommodation supplied.
- Can pickup in Miriam Vale, Agnes Water or 1770 Turn Off.
- Please contact us through HelpX first and have a detailed profile.

Photo descriptions:
1. The house and guest cabin.
2. Posing with our first HelpXers.
3. Sam and Max, our Maremma sheep dogs
4. Helper accommodation.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use