Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 12326
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 12326
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 10, 2017

We live on a life style property in the North West corner of Tasmania. Half the property is a beautiful ornamental garden and the rest is given over to fruit trees, vegetables, berries, bees and chickens. We are passionate about growing organic vegetables and berries and as a rule we pick our veggies in the late afternoon for that evening's meal so what you are eating is as fresh as is possible. You will immediately taste the difference between our veggies and those that are store bought. Our honey is organically harvested and not heated.

In Jan/Feb we take our hives to the Tarkine forests to feed on the leatherwoods which give us the uniquely Tasmanian leatherwood honey. If you are interested in these aspects of sustainable living, we are the hosts for you. If you do not wish to be involved with the bees,that is not a problem as there is enough to do working with the veggies so nobody will be bored. We bottle, freeze, dry and do as much as we can to preserve our produce for the winter months and our helpers are welcome to get involved with this aspect of our life style too, learning how to make jams, pickles, chutneys and bottled fruits, sun dried tomatoes and delicious soups. John is keen on experimenting with different home made breads which he happily teaches others. The list is endless.

Monty loves young company as do we. He is a loving gentle dog and we usually take him to Penguin to walk on the beaches and our helpers enjoy the outing along with us.
The city of Burnie is only 10 minutes drive from our home, there is an authentic farmers market there where our honey is sold.In the summer months we take our helpers to see the fairy penguins on the beachfront. Wildlife abounds in the area and if you are lucky you might even see a platypus at Fern Glade reserve which is a 5 minute drive away. Glenda is a keen hiker and tries to ensure that every helper gets to experience a hike on the wild side during their stay with us. We have acquired bicycles that our helpers are using to get to the beaches nearby as well as to the nearby forest and river.

Accommodation would be in our beautiful home in a comfortable bedroom with your own shower/bath. We have 2 lounges with satellite TV in both so everyone's taste. We have wifi, but its limited. Dinner is always taken together and vegetarians are welcome. General help around the property, gardening, weeding, digging, helping with housework, and cooking/washing up or whatever is happening on the land at that time. Non smoking.
We live close to beautiful beaches and wonderful hikes. Come and experience a Tasmanian Idyll. We are into our fourth year of helpx.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use