Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 12514
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4
Persons: Up to 4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 12514
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 25, 2016

Hi. We are a 4 hectare smallholding in a very unspoilt and beautiful part of Spain. We are however very near villages (nearest 5 min) and the cities of Badajoz and Caceres (50min). Also very near the border with Portugal so easy to pop over for the evening/day.

We do though benefit from mod cons such as unlimited broadband internet, electricity supply, good clean drinking water (hot and cold) coming in at pressure and good vehicle access. Accommodation will be in an newly built flat annexe off the house with one bedroom, sitting room, kitchen and bathroom with all mod cons eg washing machine, oven,hob, dishwasher, heating, air con etc..

We have sheep, pigs, chickens, geese, rabbits, guinea fowl as well as a donkey (riders welcome)and two cats and three dogs. We have two large vegetable patches and lots of trees mainly olives and oak.

The work will be day to day smallholding stuff such as feeding and watering animals and tending plants. Seasonal things such as olive picking and almond picking in autumn and larger upgrading work which i am particularly keen to get done such as stone walling.

I am looking for child friendly (i have an eleven year old) volunteers who are practical (building, welding and walling skills particularly welcome) and physically fit and strong as obviously the above work is quite demanding. Omnivores preferred (please note we keep to spanish hours so eat lunch and supper fairly late) and those above 35 with a driving licence are insured for the car, but all volunteers considered that are friendly and amiable. I cannot can't do short stays less than 3/4 weeks and longer term stays are particularly welcome (subject to us all getting on well of course) from those who want to tackle bigger jobs. I would expect 5 to 6 hours of work a day 5 days a week but if you want to juggle your hours for more whole days off thats fine with me.

There are lots of country things to do in your spare time eg walking, cycling (we have a couple of mountain bikes available and a canoe), fantastic for star gazing and lots of rare birds can be seen in this area. The village has loads of bars, restaurants and often concerts, theatre and dancing but very few people speak english in this area so if you want us to show you around the place that no problem.

If i have missed anything out you would like to know or you are interested in a visit please get in touch. Cheers.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use