Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 12541
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Fish Creek
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.6
Persons: 1-2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 12541
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 31, 2018

PLEASE READ THIS:
We suffered three serious traumas in 2017 and stopped hosting for over a year as a result. Is essential for us that anyone who comes to stay is empathetic, communicative, and has a high level of maturity. You do not need to have excellent English, but still willing to communicate on a personal level.


We live on a 4 acre property, aiming for self-sufficiency. We grow all of our own eggs and meat (chooks, cattle, pigs, sheep, ducks), a large vegie garden, & many fruit trees. We are almost completely organic, but not entirely. We make our own beer, make cheese, jams, preserves, etc, and can teach you about these if it is possible during your stay. Let us know if you particularly want to learn something, as not all things are possible all year.

Aside from our current projects there is always garden work (spreading mulch, weeding, animal care, fruit tree & vegie garden maintenance) as well as general household stuff.

annual highlights:
* February-March we preserve fruit and veg from the garden (apples, stone fruit, tomatoes, etc)
* in March we bottle about 40kg of tomatoes as passata
* mid June each year we make salami, prosciutto, copacollo and other sausages from one of our pigs. It is a long hard (but tasty) weekend, and we usually have two couples here to help. It's been popular, so we are choosy (due to the high stress of the weekend!) - NOT in 2018
* July-August we have a couple of lambs to bottle feed and cuddle -NOT in 2018
* July-August we get 2 new piglets each year

We are close to Wilsons Prom National Park, Phillip Island & wonderful beaches. Loads of Aussie wildlife in this area. We've lived in different countries, are both well-travelled (and love travelling) and enjoy learning about other cultures. If you are a movie fan (non-mainstream cinema) then it is a big bonus with Tinker. Ad is into football of all kinds. And if you are from an obscure country, or culture, or speak an obscure language - BIG BONUS POINTS!

Accommodation for 1-2 people in our home, which we share with 2 cats and 2 bouncy labradoodle dogs, or in the sleep-out.

Meat based diet. *Any special diet needs by arrangement only please!* No smoking inside house. No children (due to safety on farm). We prefer stays of 2-3 weeks, negotiable after first few days (to see how we get on).

Public transport connection: V-Line coach to Fish Creek from Southern Cross station in Melbourne.
Easiest to catch us by phone after the sun goes down and we're back inside, or by email.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use